Les français, les mal élèves!


Advertisement
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I went to a brunch celebrating the release of the ballet Blanche Neige. I really just went because it was free (CEA payed for us to go) and to have something to do on a lazy Saturday. I didn’t really know what was going to be there or what was going to happen so I didn’t really have expectations, except for the food, of course! 😊 They interviewed the choreographer of the ballet for a long time about his process, the dancers, the changes he made from the typical story, working with Jean Paul Goutier (who made the costumes...that was the only thing I found really cool and interesting), etc. And then people got to ask him questions…which took forever and was boring. I also didn’t understand a lot of what they were saying because it wasn’t the best PA system and people were mumbling and using words that I didn’t know and talking fast. So I was bored. And I, franchement, didn’t really care to hear all of it, even if I could have understood it. I was just there for the food.

Interesting cultural experience: French people at a nice buffet. IT WAS INSANE!! I knew that the French were a rather pushy, bust the line to get there first myself kind of people, but this was ridiculous! The French have no concept of how to make or use a line, so they just all horded around the food item that they wanted and then cut in front of other people to get more!! We were being polite Americans and waiting in the semi-line that had formed, while all these other French people were just swooping in out of nowhere and grabbing at the food. Swooping is actually a good way to describe it - it reminded me of vultures on a freshly killed carcass! Only this was fancy jambon cru, fromage, and patisseries! It was like my 14 year old brother, who eats as though he thinks all the food is going to disappear in a minute so he has to take as much of it as possible and eat it fast! They say the French are civilized people (and they REALLY like to think themselves much more mannered than Americans..bein sur!) but they were like animals! I was so shocked! And because I waited in line like a good girl I didn’t get any dessert! That just isn’t right! 😞

Also, when I got up to get more food (although there was none left) I put my plate on the chair I was sitting in (because there was no table where we were) to leave until I came back. When I came back, the French woman sitting across from me said, (in broken English), ”hey lady, do not put your plate there!” OOOh I was pissed! There weren’t any tables and I felt it was ruder/dirtier to put the plate I was going to REuse on the floor! And that is besides the important fact that it was absolutely none of her business! She doesn’t work there! I have a feeling she felt inclined to say it because we were about 6 young girls sitting together, speaking English; like she felt the need to educate the unmannered and uncouth American. OOo that kind of French attitude makes me so angry and is such a true cliché!! French people stick their noses in places it doesn’t belong quite often I have found. And I found it really funny and hypocritical that in the same event where I was aghast at their manners concerning food and lines that she should unnecessarily and rudely try to correct me about where I place my plate! HAH!

It is events like this that make me proud to be an American and have fuel to defend my heritage! I feel like the odds are against me here in Europe...people always have such misconceptions/stereotypes/prejudices against Americans for so many reasons. French people are very traditional and stuck in their ways and they don’t like it when people go against what they do or negate it. And it just so happens that many of the things that French people see as being rude or against their tradition are the opposite for Americans. And it isn’t that one is right and the other is wrong, we’re just different. But I think, in general, each side sees the other as unmannered and crazy/stuck up and ancient. But I think now I have the unique perspective of seeing it both ways; I see where each culture gets their individualities from and how they just, par hasard, clash!

But it makes me really frustrated some times when people act on those stereotypes and prejudices they have. Especially since a lot of them come from whatever bits of our pop culture make it over here..Paris Hilton, Hugh Hefner, Disney, rap music, etc. A lot of times the most exaggerated and un-representative stuff is what people in Europe know of Americans. I have made some good French friends and a Dutch friend here in my time abroad, and it is true that they know a lot more about American culture than I do about theirs (especially Dutch culture...I knew nothing beyond windmills, weed and clogs!) And those people often times try to assert themselves as being more worldly and knowledgeable than me because of it. What I am about to say may sound arrogant, but I have really come to the conclusion, after serious reflection on the matter, that that is soo hypocritical, because the only reason they know about our culture through those manners is because they WANT our pop culture! American movies, tv shows, music, clothing styles, drinks/foods, sayings, advertisements, etc..THEY ARE ALL THE MOST POPULAR IN THE WORLD! It is not MY FAULT that you like things from my country so much!! If there was no demand for American products and culture in other countries there would be none. So you know so much about my music and tv and movies, etc, and I know so little about yours because mine is better/more popular than yours, and YOU made it that way! I can’t be to blame for that! I, therefore, find it really frustrating and hypocritical when people say that American culture is superficial, materialistic, and that we push ourselves onto other people/cultures! Well if all you know of a culture are their blockbuster, moneymaker movies and cool clothing brands, then, yeah, you choose to see and experience the materialistic side! That is not rocket science! I didn’t make anyone listen to my music or watch my movies...that is on them! French people hate to admit it but we provide a large percentage of their entertainment…especially for young people! Where would they be without America? They wouldn’t have anything fun to do and they wouldn’t have anyone to complain about either!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb