Aix-en-Provence


Advertisement
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We went to Aix-en-Provence last Saturday, it took a couple hours to get there by bus but it was really interesting and very pretty! First we walked around the city and were shown the important tourist destinations. This excursion was hard for me because everything was explained in French so I picked up on it a little bit, but I was the only American with some Swiss students and a lot of Japanese students, so nothing was explained in English. There is a huge fountain in the center of town that is really pretty, and trees line streets and Im sure its beautiful when they are blooming! Since it was a Saturday, they had lots of outdoor markets. There were markets for flowers, food, and clothing and they were really big!
Later we stopped and had a pique nique lunch and were entertained by a post that goes down into the ground when a car drives up to it. I had never seen anything like it, it looked like cars could not go through because of this post, but a car would drive up slowly and the post would go into the ground and a light would flash indicating the car could go. That was fun to see and one of the Swiss girls jumped on it after a car had passed over and the post lifted her up a bit.
My friend from high school, Kristin Chantry is studying abroad in Aix so I left her a message on facebook and put her number in my phone and tried to call her while I was there. Of course the phones here are tricky so I didnt put the number in right but she called me and we were able to meet up! That was really nice seeing someone I know! Kristin showed us around town a bit, she seems to like studying abroad a lot and she has been gone the whole year! Hopefully she can make it up to Cannes someday!
After we walked around town, we visited where Paul Cézanne painted his famous portraits. That was really cool to see, he painted a bunch of fruit and a mountain that is close to Aix using different lighting.
Everyone was pretty tired after that so we all slept on the bus all the way back to Cannes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Thermes SextiusThermes Sextius
Thermes Sextius

There were some ancient Roman runes in here


28th February 2008

Kul
Wow Niki!!! This all looks great and educational. I have enjoyed reading and looking at your site. I am also glad to hear you went to the perfume manufacturers.... we could use a little calogne for when we run.... lol Great to see a picture of you also.... I am proud to know you!!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb