Early Vacation


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Nantes
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: My reason for no work 47 secs
2: French striking! 28 secs
3: More strike 16 secs
Hello everyone!
Good news: my computer virus is gone, thanks to my friend Dan! Well I'm writing you from my bed because I haven't gone to work since last week! My students are on strike! They have blockaded the entrance to the school and refuse to enter until, well lets just say that they somehow coincidentally chose the week before Christmas vacation and probably won't enter until the next semester. I have to say, I think this whole striking thing for the students is ridiculous, but I'm getting an extra week of paid vacation!

This past weekend while Lauren and April were at Disneyland, I hung out with some coworkers and my friend Rachel, who also had a Christmas party on Saturday night. It was good fun. Other than that it was a kinda uneventful weekend. This week I've been running errands, eating all the darn sweets that come before your eyes during CHristmas time, and really not doing much else at all. Tuesday night, April and I went to a play that my coworker had free tickets to. It was called "My Roommate is a Bitch", (Mon colocataire est une garce) and it was a little amateur, actually really amateur, good for high schoolers. Still, it was cute and I learned some phrases that I hadn't known before in French, so beneficial. Afterwards we met up with some friends for drinks near the theatre and it was a really fun time. Yesterday I had lunch at our Burger cafe and chitchatted it up with the owners. Afterwards we headed to the mall because really there's not much else you can do for free during the day besides walk around and look at stuff. Today I'm going to clean the apartment since we're having a Christmas party on tomorrow and then I'm going to try and run to the grocery store because I am plain out of everything! The theme for our party is tacky christmas, so I bought some really ugly reindeer earrings and a santa headband hat and some green and red hair extensions that you clip in. It should be a hoot. After that, this weekend will probably be low key with laundry and cleaning before Lauren and I leave on Tuesday for Strasbourg. That should be really fun. I'm attaching some video and pictures of the past few days, hope you enjoy them!

xoxo
Cara


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb