Not so impressive Nantes


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Nantes
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, today was busy, though perhaps not so interesting. I decided before heading out this morning from the hostel that I would get the Nantes 24h pass which allowed free transportation on any of their tram or buslines, and free entry into a bunch of places. For 16 euros, I thought I had better make it worth my while. I wound up going to the castle first, and going through the museum. Not being a big museum person, I was getting bored about halfway through. I had hoped that there would be rooms in the castle set up like they would have been in the past, but instead it was a bunch of displays of artifacts from Nantes through the ages, from about Medieval times through today. It was okay for the first half, but once we reached about 1800, I was running out of steam. They also had the museum set up in such a way that you HAD to go through every room to get out of the place. Also had to climb up a bunch of stairs and then down all those stairs. What a workout! As if I'm not getting enough exercise!

Next I decided to take the little train tour around Nantes. I'm a little embarrassed to say that I fell asleep while riding on it. Not so asleep that I had to be removed from the train or anything, but I know that I was nodding off as we went.

I also went into the Cathedral and a couple of other churches, and then hit the Tourist Office after lunch. I found out that I could take a river cruise along the Ersle (?) river, and after a bit decided to do that. Boring! I fell asleep riding that too. For a cruise that was only supposed to be 1h 45min. I was not too impressed to see that we returned to the dock about 2 hours and 10 min. later! Next I decided to go up LU tower (for any of you who know French cookies, LU is a huge name over here). Also not impressive. I had to climb 4 flights of stairs to be in an enclosed dome that was STINKING hot! Needless to say, I didn't stay long. After that I went to the Ile des Machines where there was supposed to be this humongous elephant that would carry people a certain distance, as well as a bunch of other strange creations. By the time I got there (a good 1h 15min. before it closed) the elephant was already motionless and lots of other things were closing down.

It was a strange day and I'm quite tired. I think I may try to go to sleep early, though I do have 2h on the train when I can doze off if I want to.

Strange thing I found here though.... Orange Diet Coke! Not as good as Lime, Lemon or (of course) Cherry though!!!!

Off to Rennes tomorrow and to meet Ade, a friend of a friend! Wish me Bonne Chance when speaking to her in French!!!! (Actually, my French has been quite well received here. Very little English spoken my way, thank goodness!)

Advertisement



4th August 2008

I guess I won't be going to Nantes..
.. it sounds kind of dry... but at least they had orange diet coke. For me, it would be worth the drive to Nantes!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb