God Bless America.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Angers
July 25th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Desolée for not writing more often! Since my last entry, my life has been consumed with learning French. I speak French, I conjugate verbs all day, and I even dream in French. However, classes aside, I've really grown to love life here. Granted it's VERY different but nice. I know I've probably said it before but, you have no idea how slow life moves in this city. My favorite thing is when people are in the middle of doing something, anything at all, and they stop to "faire une pause." Literally, you push the pause button on life until you feel like pushing plat again. The pause could be for 5 minutes to grab an ice cream or it could last 2 hours having a café. I have to say though, as much as I love it here, I do miss home. A lot. Especially Mexican food! My friend and I actually went to the specialty foods section in the grocery store and paid way too much for some chips and salsa...well worth the money, let me tell you! She and I also were typical Americans and made a trip to MacDo (McDonald's) to get McFlurry's! Honestly, they are much better here than they are in the states. It was heaven. Gotta love America right? It's so funny because normally, people can't tell immediately that I'm American. They think I'm English or Spanish. However, if men hear my friends and I speak english, I always (almost daily) here one or all of the following phrases:
-I love you.
-New York City!
-You be my wife?!
Nice, huh? I swear, I think this was my week to miss the old US and A...I even went to a movie to see Ocean's 13 in english. Talk about a culture shock...the movie theaters here have no AC, should've known right? The screen was also pretty small. ça va. Life is good though. I've really learned to appreciate the little things, as if I didn't already. My entire class went to dinner Monday night to Le Quatorze...a brushetta restaurant. It was fabulous! I had a brushetta with smoked salmon, tomatoes, and basil on top! Tonight my friends and I are going out with our teacher for a final dinner out in Angers. We're going to Pub St. Aubin, a little place that looks as if it should be in a movie. Almost done with classes, I cannot wait! I'll be heading to the beach, St. Jean de Luz in the south of France for a while to learn to surf. Should have some good stories. Miss everyone!

Sending you gros bisous (big kisses) from Angers!

Love,
Sonya



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb