Spring break... the beginning


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
March 18th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After spending time with Maris and Kate for their spring break it was time to buckle down for midterms… 5 midterms later I found myself on a jet to the city of love, Paris. We stayed at the 3 Ducks Hostel… looks fun from the outside, nice little pub, friendly and helpful staff but the room was gross… found ants on the bunk beds… common shower and bathroom outside. Not the best hostel to say the least, I won’t describe it too much more. There were always people talking and bumping around the courtyard. I slept in my clothes that night and didn’t unpack anything besides my toothbrush… But on the bright side I had an amazing dinner! I’ve been doing well with Lent.. I had a pasta dish wish smoke salmon SO GOOD, the best sauvignon blanc I have ever had, and an amazing apple tart and pear dessert I shared with Renee and Chelsea. We went to the Eiffel that night and admired the glittery lights.

The second day of spring break… time to explore Paris! The day I have dreamt of for as long as I remember. I’ve always wanted to go to Paris and I was finally there soaking it all in with a huge smile on my face. Our first stop was to the train station Nord, to purchase tickets for a train to Amsterdam that night. Kristin’s card didn’t work and that was a whole fiasco but it worked out in the end. We stopped for a cappuccino then were on our way to the Louvre. We didn’t actually make it in because we were pressed on time so we walked across the river to Notre Dame. Here I was enjoying the gargoyles when I noticed people looking at me funny.. Kristin said Aly watch out and to my surprise behind me was a guy in a scary mask! I screamed and did a little skip and the crowd laughed at my expense haha. Then we went down Champ Elysse near the Arc de Triumph. Here we stopped for chocolate and banana crepes! YUM YUMMM. We made our way back to the Eiffel Tower, packed up and Kristin and I left Renee and Chels for Amsterdam!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb