Paris Day1


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
March 18th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The GirlsThe GirlsThe Girls

Emily, my mom, my aunt
Well, we made it....
We met up with my aunt and mom in Dallas, ate a quick lunch and got on the plane to Paris. Very easily the longest plane ride ever. But when we woke up (I say woke up but I really mean snapped out of a short doze) we woke up to a really beautiful sun rise.
We got to Paris and we were able to buy our transportation tickets and Paris passes right at the airport. Those make traveling very easy...if you can find the RER (the local train into Paris). We trekked around the airport pulling WAY too much luggage for about 40 min before we found where we were supposed to be....then when we got to our neighborhood we pulled our luggage about a mile before we found our apartment. Could we be more tired? No.
BUT since the time change/jet lag is supposed to be so much worse if you come in and sleep we decided to venture out again. Before I tell that story I just want to say what a beautiful apartment we are renting. INCREDIBLE.
So, we decide today is the day for Musee du Louvre. It is the most incredible sight I have ever seen in my life. The museum itself is beyond words and then you add all of the artifacts and you are just left speechless.
We were there for about 4 hours and Emily hit the wall. She just couldn't go any more. So we came back to the apartment and here we are up to date. My mom and aunt are at the store getting some dinner. Who knows what they will bring back but I am sure it will be incredible.
TTFN

Gina


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

apartmentapartment
apartment

my room
apartmentapartment
apartment

dining room
apartmentapartment
apartment

bathroom
random graffitirandom graffiti
random graffiti

so much graffiti everywhere!
MonnaMonna
Monna

Its how they spelled it.
ceilingsceilings
ceilings

The ceilings all throughout the entire museum are this beautiful
bridgebridge
bridge

oldest bridge in Paris
VenusVenus
Venus

Venus de Milo


18th March 2011

Bonjour
How exciting! The photos are gorgeous! I think I'm going to need a copy on disc when you get back! You are SUCH a great photographer! Smart to make yourself stay up. You will crash and burn tonight, and feel better tomorrow. I'm am jelous and I love you and miss you and am soooo damn excited for you! This is the adventure of a lifetime and I'm so happy you get to spend it with the girls. BTW--when did Emily turn into a 21-year-old super model? My God, a liver spot popped up on my hand looking at her picture. And of course, your mom is frozen in my brain, circa 1985, so it is surprising to see her now. I never knew her with light curly hair. Have fun!!!
19th March 2011

Paris
It sounds like you had to walk a ways pulling your suitcases. Do you think the locals thought you were tourists, or did you slip that by them? The apartment you are staying in is very nice. I had an apartment in my mind as old as the bridge you sent a picture of. Looking forward to more pictures.
19th March 2011

you made it!!!
So glad to hear made it. Your place looks amazing. And I walked on that bridge many times just for the reason that it was the oldest bridge-had to eat something from the oldest pastry shop (Stohrer 51 rue Montorgueil Paris 2). I miss Paris so much, have a total blast my sweetie.
19th March 2011

sidewalk...
....cafes? Cafe au lait? Rain? Umbrellas along the river? book stalls? jjh
21st March 2011

No rain!
No time for people watching....trying to get in as much as possible while we are here. Its about to kill me! We have eaten in a few cafes but have been too hungry to take pics of it. :) The weather has been amazing. The only day it was cold was when we went to Versailles. All of the rest of the time its gotten up into the 60's every day. The weird thing is that its supposed to be pretty sunny in London when we are there too!!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb