March 4th


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
March 4th 2011
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

04/03

This is my first of hopefully many blogs during my journeys for the year. A lot of it will be ramblings from my warped little mind but bear with me as I might have some interesting things to share with you!

Album I’m listening to while writing: Biffy Clyro-Only Revelations

Well after weeks of planning I’m finally on my way. First stop Paris via Eurostar to see my friends Clement and Cattie for the next 3 nights. I’m looking forward to a couple of nights out in the city, kicking Clement’s ass in Fifa, and for some original French delicacies (un baguette!) Things went smoothly this morning which goes to show that it’s a good idea to get everything done the night before. Looked like a bit of a ritard (thanks Hangover) at Earls Court when I couldn’t put my bag on. I’ll be a pro by the end of the trip though I’m sure.
The weird thing about this whole me leaving is that I don’t feel sad or nostalgic about it. Laying in bed in my empty room last night felt like any other night. I didn’t start thinking about the last seven years in London, how much I would miss it, or regretting things I never did (British Museum, Loch Ness, jumping off Putney Bridge on a drunken dare) which I suppose means that I have never been more ready for this. Don’t get me wrong I will miss my friends that I have made over the past few years but it seems so many intend to leave the country that eventually everyone will part their own way. Maybe because so many of my friends have already gone back over the past few years that it’s just the norm that eventually we will all go (at least until you get the British passport, unlike me, but that’s a whole nother story). I was able to say my goodbyes with a couple of epic parties and that’s the whole point of them, to not drag it out but to get it done and dusted so we can all move on with our lives.

I’m looking forward to this trip around Eastern Europe, and I’m hoping everything will go as well as I have planned it. To go a whole month without any hiccups would be amazing, but I am preparing for what might go wrong: Missed train departures or not waking up for my 3am connection, losing my passport (I have a better record on the ground than on a plane so that’s a plus) losing anything in my luggage or having it taken from one of the hostels, getting injured and not being able to finish the trip. Hopefully none of these things will happen but at the end of the day it’s all part of the trip and as with most things don’t have an effect on your life a year or two down the road.

Man I feel like Jack Kerouac’s On the Road, except being on a different continent in a different century. Maybe I’ll write an updated version...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb