Thanks to the Bus Drivers of Nice


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok this is a little late in coming but better late than never Vincent always said....Ok so my flight was 8h and change. I got to Charles de Gaulle in Paris and barely had time to get through customs before I got on my next plane to Nice. It's really beautiful here. There are a lot of palm trees but the greenery isn't all tropical. I saw a magnolia and a spruce as well. The city is at the base of a mountain range that is part of the Alps. When I arrived at 220pm I found a bus and went to the city center to get my insurance and pay la Secu. I had packed 2 suitcases so it was a huge hassle trying to maneuver about the city and not look so vulnerable/dumb. Ok so when I was done with my insurance issues it was 415pm and the university closed at 430. I knew I wouldn't make it especially since I had no idea where I was or where I needed to go. I basically walked around for a while and finally got to a bus stop and got on (again with two suitcases). I was sooooo tired from the plane ride as well as from the suitcases. I decided to go to one of the hostels suggested in my packet to spend the night then try and find my dorm tomorrow. Well when I got on the bus the driver tried his best to help me. He took me to a different bus going to the hostel and helped me carry my suitcases before he left. I proceeded to fall asleep on the second bus (stupid I know). Thankfully the second bus driver was nice as well and woke me to tell me I was at my stop. I got out and made it to the hostel. Everyone was really nice there and I got dinner and a room with breakfast the next day for 28 euros (not bad). I wanted to make sure i didn't miss dinner so I went to the main area to read until dinner. While reading I met this Italian guy named Marco who was from a village near Milan. He looked way older than me but seemed to enjoy talking to me a lot. Between our French, Italian and English we could carry on a conversation pretty well. For donner we sat with a mother and daughter named Alicia also from Italy. We had soup followed by salad and vegetables with meat. After that we had a cheese plate and fruit then dessert all with water. After dinner Marco and I talked a little while longer. He attempted to read my book aloud which was hilarious. Then I told him I was going to bed and he did that kissy thing on my cheeks which made me super uncomfortable because I just met him. He was nice but a bit of a creep. I went to my bed bug free bed (mom) and talked with my two roommates for the night. They were two girls from China who were traveling. Finally I had found a bed and I fell asleep straight away.

Advertisement



5th January 2011

No bugs is a good thing
This is great I am so glad that you had so much trouble, LOL. It makes for a good story. Hopefully that is all the trouble and the worst of the trouble you will have . Keeping my fingers crossed. I love you and cannot wait for the next entry. Oh and you better answer my Skype request, cause I figured it out all by myself and stuff just for you. Love tons G
5th January 2011

Just you wait
Just you wait til I crank out what I did today. It'll be CRAZY!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb