"Oh, I forgot, I'm a guy.....in my pants."


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!! It has been awhile! If you are wondering about the quote in the title.....you just had to be there. If you want pictures, take a look at Ben's travel blog; www.travelblog.org/Europe/blog-531988.html

Okay, here it goes:

So our last days in Barcelona were, to be frank, a blur of drinking games and tapas. We visited great sites and had some beach time to relax (because our lives are so rough, right?) We made some great new friends and taught them some fine American traditions, like Bus Driver and King's Cup. Fantastic people all around and I hope to keep in touch with them all in the future. If anything, great memories at the hostel and at the best tapas joint in town!

After Barcelona, we made our long trek to Nice, about 14 hours total traveling time. It was the cheapest route and on a weird stroke of serendipity, I saw a few of the Australians I met in Madrid! We quickly caught up and went our separate ways after Montpellier, they to Rome and us to Nice. I guess that's how these friendships can be sometimes; quick and meaningful, brief but unforgettable.

Nice was beautiful and pricey! If you ever go there, friends; be prepared to go over budget sometimes. We explored the town and checked out the beaches but did not go swimming. They were a little packed for my taste but you can definitely see why Nice is where the Parisians go to play. We took a day-trip to Monaco to feel like elites, but as these things go it did just the opposite. The Principality of Monaco is a great place to go for a few hours but is extremely expensive otherwise. Let me just say; Thank you to whoever invented the 'fixed-price' menu! We went to the aquarium there which, in all I read, was going to be one of the best aquariums in the world and is worth every penny and more. To you I say this; it was a little lackluster. Sure, there were a decent amount of aquatic life with some variety but 'one of the world's best'? I don't agree. It was alright and it was nice to get out of the sun but my favorite is, and still proves to be, the aquarium in Vancouver, B.C. Either way, an experience was had! The remainder of Nice was uneventful but very chill. Something desperately needed after the pace in Barcelona.

We are in Paris now! The other day we trekked up Montmartre where I got my portrait drawn in brown pastels. It doesn't really look like me but I prefer it that way. It shows the artist interpretation and if it had been an exact likeness, I could have taken a picture for free. We wandered the base of Montmartre for the rest of that day, seeing various neon signs promising naked women and the things they could do for you. Not my personal interest but it is pretty funny to see how many places there are in one small area.

Yesterday, we hit the Louvre early. I got blisters on my feet from running around for three hours and still did not see half of the things in that building, and this is my second time there! We walked around the Seine and ended up at Notre Dame just as evening mass was starting and the place was packed! Unfortunately, we did not get to go up to the towers because of the service but it is still a beautiful cathedral. Today, we went to Napoleon's tomb (extremely decadent) and walked about Saint Germaine. Not terribly eventful but tomorrow should have some more promise. Musee d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysses, and the Arc de Triomphe! So excited!!!

To slow down and be a little serious for a moment:
We arrived in Paris a few days ago (second time for me) and it still has a special place in my heart. There is something about the infamous 'City of Lights' that grabs you. Trust me, my first time here I did not want to be one of those girls all love-sick about a city, it's just a city right? Wrong. Without my permission or knowledge, Paris captivated me and continues to surprise me with it's cunning ability to woo me. You may read this and laugh about how I DID get caught up in the idealistic magic of a dirty city but I say this to you: I do not care. Even if I don't speak the language, know what food I'm ordering, or how old the cathedral across the street is, I feel so much love for this city and it's citizens. This may seem whimsical and possibly stupid to some of you, but I guess you would just have to try it for yourself.

I hope you are enjoying these little blurbs as much as I am enjoying writing them. Feedback is much appreciated. I love you all! Goodbye until the next entry!

Advertisement



22nd September 2010

Love it
Tori, I absolutley love your blog--I feel like I am touring with you. I am so very glad that you are doing this and seem to be having a great time. Paris sounds wonderful. I really miss you and can't wait for the next entry. Love, Daddy

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb