From the plane ride over 6-7/7/2010


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
July 7th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

-59°F outside?!


I look up from Inglorious Bastards and see we're almost over Toronto. What time is it? When'd we take off again, and when'd I start watching this movie? (I decided to watch IB first because the cabin wasn't dark enough to watch Avatar. Going from a larger than life screen, and in 3D, to a 4x5 or smaller screen wasn't exactly my goal when viewing this award winning feature)

As an aside the AirFrance Ambiance music channel was sahweet! The singers sounded like Tegan&Sara, and Eisley.
Lyrics:
Song 1
(Chorus) "Can I call you mine"
"...thirsting in the backyard"
Song 2
"you're tangled up..."
"you do as you damn well please..."
"your briney eyes are hollow mirriors"
"through clouds of dandilions"
"where are you driving dear?"

turbulance

The dinner wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be, not as good as the last time I flew AirLingus (which I thought was funny because it's AirFrance). They didn't have ginger ale or 7up, like they had listed on their flight menu.
The flight attendant, all of which speak with perfect French accents (but then speak in English with completely different accents - German, Welsh, Australian - it was interesting to hear), offered me Sierra Mist as an alternative, which isn't pour moi. Then he asked in his German accent, "How about Schwepps?" "Yea, um, you coulda said that in the first place," I thought. He tells me I need to try the Schwepps out of this pinkish colored can. It was really yummy😊

turbulance

A flight attendant came by and ubruptly told me to close the shades, but it just seemed like that, he had to get his job done and there were many windows on one side of a plane.

turbulance

Well Avatar is good. I think the screen size, touch-pad grid, and lack of light and dark contrast don't do it justice...but it's 12am...8am, I'm headed to sleep.Next stop, CDG!

Two movies and a nap later I awake to see my fellow cabin-mates eating breakfast.

I pull up the window cover and see a sprawling Parisian Countryside, which is soon there after followed by the most neausiating decent over Paris. The woman sitting next to me grabs the white bag from her travel partner, because he apparently wasn't fast enough handing it to her, and just holds it - I was worried because she hadn't eaten in 10 hours. Peculiar apartment architecture.
The landing was better than the Southwest landings I'd been party to very recently. A Flight Attendant announces the temp is 35°C at 2:20pm

We stop on the runway just shy of terminal 2E.

The captain says what I thought was "trent minutes" (sp) to wait for a parking space in orderfor us to disembark. But then the English translation I had been privy to these last 10 hours never came on. "Are you serious?!" I started thinking, "A "à minute wait to the gate?" After a few more moments the captain came on and, in English, said, "We're waiting for parking...thank you for your paiten-" et cet fini.
English means bad now. He had no paitentice to finish the word or translate everything he had said en Français. Oh mon dieu, here I go.
"Three minutes"? "Sorry(Desole) in the meantime(printemps)"? My ass hurts. These are the worst seat coushins ever. Aimlessly I wander around, looking for the bookstore the lady at the information desk told me to go buy a SIM card at. I leave and return to the waiting section at 2E and I see this woman in a military combat uniform, a man dressed the same, and an other man in a white military suit. That woman was carrying a gun I'm sure I saw on "True Lies." I was not okay with that 😞

It's like any other city:

traffic, graffiti, construction. How can this be the city of love? Bad driving- oh House Boats! But, anyway, I hope tomorrow's better than today 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Spiral staircase!
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Napolean's apartment
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Napolean's apartment
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Napolean's apartment
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Napolean's apartment
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

Spiral staircase
LouvreLouvre
Louvre

lost


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb