April Showers bring May flowers?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CarnavalCarnavalCarnaval

Our last minute costumes!
Happy April showers everyone! The ironic thing is that it's just stopped raining here after a very wet winter. Things are finally starting to warm up. I'm hoping that by my birthday I can go to the beach in my bikini and start working on my tan. That might be a little too optimistic, but I still have hope.

As usual I have a lot to catch up on. I haven't written in my blog since February. We celebrated carnaval which is a festivity that goes jointly with Mardi Gras. Everyone goes a little party crazy the weekend before Ash Wednesday. I went up north with my friend Dani to a town in the mountains called Velez Blanco. It's the most picturesque small town that I've ever seen in my life. It's got everything that it needs including it's own historic castle. On the night that carnaval is celebrated, everyone dresses up in costumes like it's Halloween. Dani and I dressed up as Olivia Newton John and John Travolta. We had a great time.

At the end of the month I went to Paris to visit my friend Philippine. It was a wonderful trip. I was so happy to
CarnavalCarnavalCarnaval

Dani's friends dressed up as babies and teachers.
be going somewhere different and to have the opportunity to practice my French. I've been to France before, but the last time I was there I didn't speak anything more than a merci and a bon appetit. This trip was all about doing frenchy things. I enjoyed learning about Philippine's life as a student in Paris and meeting her friends. I think the highlight of the trip was the beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon that Philippine and I had a picnic of delicious food and cidre in a park and talked about boys. I was overjoyed to be in a big city again that had luxuries like Starbucks and boba tea.

I was, however, incredibly surprised by how much I was missing Spain at the end of the trip. I was only gone for 6 days! As I was in the plane heading for Madrid, all I could think about was getting back to Spain and speaking Spanish again. It's familiar. I know what to expect and I know what the people are like; I can understand them and their customs. It was strange how happy I was! It was almost like I had come back home. I had missed
CarnavalCarnavalCarnaval

Some of the guys.
Adra.

March for the most part was quite a normal month. When I got back from Paris I got right back into teaching again. I had the opportunity to return to Velez Blanco again with Marga's family. I've had a great time sharing American food with them. Some of their favorites have been twice baked potatoes, meatloaf, chili, pancakes, chocolate chip cookies, and marble cheesecake brownies. This last week Marga taught me how to make Spanish tortilla. I also spent Palm Sunday with Marga's family. I got to learn how to make some traditional Easter week desserts like buñuelos and roscos.

The most exciting news of March was definitely my Easter break vacation. I spent an entire week with Jessica! Jessica and I met up in Granada on Tuesday, we stayed there 2 nights, and then we traveled to Sevilla and stayed there for 3 nights. I was so glad to see her! It's refreshing to have someone around who knows you very well and knows where you come from. I enjoyed sharing my first Semana Santa (Holy Week) with her. Jess and I make good travel buddies because we have the same food tastes, we both are
CarnavalCarnavalCarnaval

Good friends
savy travelers, and neither of us like touristy, travel-guided tour sort of trips. On Maundy Thursday we stayed up until 5 in the morning following images of Christ and the Virgin Mary up Sacromonte Mountain in Granada. I think we ate ice cream and ethnic foods just about everyday. Over all it was a wonderul trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

ParisParis
Paris

Finally reunited!
ParisParis
Paris

Our for a delicious french dinner
ParisParis
Paris

So beautiful!
Semana SantaSemana Santa
Semana Santa

"Reenactment" of the Passion outside of the cathedral in Adra
Semana SantaSemana Santa
Semana Santa

Making buñuelos!!!!
Semana SantaSemana Santa
Semana Santa

La fabrica...our factory of goodies!
Semana SantaSemana Santa
Semana Santa

Making roscos
Semana SantaSemana Santa
Semana Santa

The final product
GranadaGranada
Granada

Images of Christ that are carried through the city
GranadaGranada
Granada

The Virgin Mary
GranadaGranada
Granada

Beautiful view of Granada from Sacromonte
GranadaGranada
Granada

buddies!
SevillaSevilla
Sevilla

STARBUCKS!
SevillaSevilla
Sevilla

These seats can´t be bought! They´re inherited!
SevillaSevilla
Sevilla

Such a romantic city! (just for you jess)


28th May 2010

its about time
finally you have updated your blog! i check every month ,its the best way for me to enjoy hearing and seeing what your life is like away from home. We miss you and love you! Can't wait to see you again!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb