Paris and her undeniable beauty


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
June 29th 2009
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Undeniable. Of all the words I can think of within the English language, undeniable is the one word I would use to describe Paris with. This happens to be my second time to this city, and the experience seems only to be richer than before. While there is much that was seen this tour, this blog entry only focuses on my return to the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre. As some of the pictures show, I was fortunate to be within the Eiffel Tower at dusk on a clear night. With the setting of the sun and the lighting of the city, I felt as if I was welcomed by Paris to get an experience that went beyond a typical tourist tour. While my mother took the elevator to the second level (as there are three levels total in the tower, the top of which is completely enclosed and seems to give a constrained view of being in the Tower), I decided to walk the entire way. I made good time, though I was thirsty enough to buy an overpriced bottle of water for $6 USD.
For people who enjoy architecture and being up high, I strongly recommend you walk the through the Tower. The views were simply fantastic and often I found myself having to hurry as I would simply stop and stare. I really enjoyed being able to take pictures once the tower lit up. It seemed as if the Tower had its own glow that bounced and radiated everywhere within. To people who may find the Tower nothing special, being within when the glow develops would help to reveal the undeniable Paris of what this city offers. Along with this, I was quite happy to take my mother around the second level. She, like everyone else on this planet, has seen the Tower many times on TV and so on. To finally look upon Paris while standing in the Tower, there’s no denying where you are at that moment.
If being in the Tower at Dusk doesn't help to envoke the mood of the city, all you have to do next is simply buy a bottle of wine, fresh sandwiches and dessert at a local shop and then enjoy them at night with a lively crowd in the Eiffel Tower park. Wth all the families, friends and lovers in the park, it becomes all too easy to feel like you're in a real party. Taking a walk in this Parisian atmosphere makes for a great evening.
The following day my mother and I went to a place that all artists need to see, the Louvre. This being my second time here, I still knew there was much to see. What made this second round enjoyable was having time to really take in the sculptures and works of art. While I’m all for taking trips at their own required paces, it is a challenge to not feel rushed within the Louvre. Here you are, in perhaps the greatest art museum in the world and you find yourself forced to ask, “How many priceless and famous works of art can I see within a day?” Only after feeling exhausted and overwhelmed can you honestly answer this question. As I walked around the Louvre again, I found myself in a familiar setting and being more comfortable, was able to take in more of the beauty. If you take the time to look, the real piece of art is the Louvre herself. Thus, from many angles and perspectives, what exists here is art upon art. Many times it can be overwhelming, but stopping yourself and letting the paranoia go of not seeing enough, you’ll begin to see what really exists.
As we left Paris, it was truly undeniable how beautiful Paris is. I of course am still only a beginner in understanding the city, but I do understand this much. Something has drawn me to Paris, and I have no doubt it is only a matter of time before I will find myself here again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

 Faces of Eiffel Tower 1 Faces of Eiffel Tower 1
Faces of Eiffel Tower 1

Here dusk is just getting started.
 Faces of Eiffel Tower 2 Faces of Eiffel Tower 2
Faces of Eiffel Tower 2

Paris beginning to light up
 Faces of Eiffel Tower 7 Faces of Eiffel Tower 7
Faces of Eiffel Tower 7

Lighting up the city


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb