13 Miles to Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm headed to Paris in just five short weeks. Running in the "Semi de Paris", my first ever half-marathon. While training in the dead of winter in Connecticut is fun and all...the race is really just an excuse to go to Paris. I think I might be crazy. Up until three months ago I had never run more than 3 miles in my life. Now I'm up to 8 and am getting on a plane to run with 27,000 people in a country where I don't even speak the language (ok so I can say Bonjour and je m'appelle Julie. That's what 4 years of French in high school got me.)

Anyway, I'm anxious to explore Paris through 13 miles of running and more importantly the following day when I force my friend to wheel me around (or carry me) to shops and museums, assuming I will have no ability to walk.

In Paris I'm staying at "Mama Shelter." It got written up as a hot boutique hotel on the outskirts of the city. It looks kind of funky, hip and modern. While I typically prefer plush to minimalist, Mama Shelter was moderately priced and was reviewed as having five-stars beds. And if I think I have any chance of surviving a 2+ hour run, I better get a great night's sleep beforehand.

Check out the race site: www.semideparis.com and www.mamashelter.com.

According to my training schedule, this week I have to run 9 miles. If I picture French wine and cheese at the finish line, I think I can get through it. Wish me luck!

Until next time.
JustJules

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb