The Dirty in Paris Chronicles Pt 4 "Final Moments in Pear-ee"


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
January 10th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On New Year's Day, not much is open museum-wise. So we did what any normal group of college friends would do. We went to a cemetary, after sleeping in, of course. We hopped on the metro and found a cemetary. Before going to the actual cemetary we grabbed lunch, where I discovered I don't like Pattes of any variety. I was especially interested in the cemetary because of my French heritage. I wanted to see if I would find a Boyer and I did. I even have a picture. French cemetaries are very different than I'm used to. It's like the top of the grave vault is at the surface. There isn't a lawn or grass over it. It's kind of hard to explain. There were beautiful statues and and other forms of art all over the cemetary. It was one of my favorite places during the whole trip. After the cemetary, we went in search for a souvenir shop. During this search, we found a beautiful church and a random statue with a large hand. I must say that our accidental finds are some of our best!
When we got back from that we didn't do much other than pack for the next day and have one last dinner in Paris before we had to go our seperate ways. Oh, and of course at dinner we had...
American Faux Pas # I have no clue there have been so many....
Demonstrated by: You Guessed it : Greg Spangler
DON'T THROW THE LINEN NAPIN INTO YOUR DIRTY PLATE!
When we got back to the hotel, we realized the alarm clock had stopped working. But it's ok because we just hit around a bit until it did and then didn't touch it again. The next morning, Laura and I woke up at 5 am to get ready to leave. We said our last goodbyes to Greg and headed out. Goodbye Paris! We hope to find sun soon!

Reflections on Paris



Overall, Paris was a good experience that cost entirely too much money. The sun doesn't really shine there...ever. However, it is a beautiful city at night. It isn't really a dirty place like everyone claims until after New Year's Eve night of course. Plan ahead and have plenty of money if you want to have a good time. I would go back to Paris if given the chance because there are other things there that I would like to see, like the inside of the Louvre. It is an experience that I will never forget. Once again I realized that it really isn't about where you are. It's about who your with. Yea I know it sounds really cheezy and lame but my best moments in Paris were when we had an American Faux Pas and did ridiculous things to make one another laugh. I can't wait to write about the next adventure to come. To Germany everyone! 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb