SHOPPING BROUGHT ME HOME


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
October 14th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

More happiness: Today I got the things I had left here with my animatrice back. That means I now have my pots, pans, spices, dishes, extra burners, sheets, stuffed animal, hair dryer, hair straightener, Internet cord (for when the time comes), school supplies, Sharpies… I couldn’t be happier!

Since I finally had everything in my kitchen, I decided to go shopping. I went to Aldi, which is just up the street from where I live. I took my reusable, sturdy shopping bag and my (very expandable) purse, or sac, as I call it. I filled both to the point where I could barely carry them home and only spent 33 Euros. Dishwashing liquid, sponges, kitchen/bathroom cleaner, heavy-duty thread for some projects I have in mind, makeup remover, two bags of pasta, butter, cream, zucchinis, bell peppers, garlic, a big bag of potatoes, sugar, fresh tomatoes, two bottles of milk, olive oil, canned tomatoes, corn, several cans of tuna, mayonnaise, bolognaise sauce, balsamic vinegar, a few kinds of cheese… I can’t wait to start cooking again.

Then I decided while I was at it to go “home” shopping as well for a few things that I needed, so I headed to Carrefour, which is similar to a Super Wal-Mart (sorry, Tom). I bought an electric kettle, tea, coffee, spoons, two plates and two bowls, scissors, a new hair straightener (the one I got back from my animatrice was no longer working - bummer!), pens, pencils, a new little notebook, Scotch tape, a single-serve coffee filter thing, real coffee, and tea.

I am flat broke, but I have what I need, and I am happy!

Realizing after such a long day of training followed by walking a half hour to be cancelled on by one of my students (don’t get me started) followed by such an intense two-part shopping extravaganza that I hadn’t eaten anything the whole day, I made myself a small bowl of pasta with a garlic cream sauce and had a nice, big, strong cup of coffee. That made all the stress of the day melt away - life is good.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb