First Impressions don't count


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lille


FivesFivesFives

My first expresso in Fives
Rain. That is all it does in Northern France. At least that is the seemed the first day I arrived in Lille. Actually, even now I'm pretty sure that's all it does. But now it's a bit prettier. My first day, I was overwhelmed and felt lonely. But that evening, I met some other Americans, a girl from England, and my next door neighbor from Africa. After that, everything improved. Diana is from Nashville,Tennessee and goes to MTSU. Kevin Hughes is from Tennessee, and attends ETSU. Shaheda is from Manchester, England, and attends the uni there.
The city is old. When I first saw it, I thought it was old in the sense that it looked run down. Now it looks more historic, and I only wish that the walls could talk and tell me what happened here. It is very quaint and what I've always thought a French town would look like. Wait- I need to clarify that I am not actually in Lille, I am in the suburb, Mons en Baroeul. Lille itself looks like an old French city that you would have seen in paintings from the 18th century. You can tell the differences in the decades that
FivesFivesFives

The view from the front of the coffee shop
things were added on. There is no cohesion in the architecture except for the people, and that is only because of their language. Even the people are a clash of decades.
My room in the dormitory is very small, at least compared to everywhere else I have lived. I have a bed, a desk and chair, a wardrobe, and a kitchenette. There is a small refridgerator, 2 burners, a tiny cabinet with a small kitchen sink above it, a double shelf on the wall above, and then a wide bathroom sink to brush my teeth and such. The showers and toilettes are down the hall- and atrocious. I sound like a spoiled brat! But it's the truth, compared to everything we are used to at home, this is small. But, it is starting to feel like it's mine and I live here.
It's odd to walk down the street at 6 or so, and most of the shops are already closed. The bars are open but not really anything else. On Sundays- nothing is open.
Fortunately for us, this weekend was the Braderie de Lille, the world's largest flea market. It covered 200 km of streets. It dates back from
FivesFivesFives

Another view...
the 12th century, and it is held every 1st weekend in September. It opened at 3 p.m. Saturday and closed at midnight on Sunday. There were people everywhere. In some places it was impossible to walk. There people selling junk from their homes, stores trying to get rid of their extra stuff. There were mountains of shoes and handbags, belts and hats. There food stands selling churros, crepes, beignets, kababs, beer, cokes, and the speciality- moules et frites (mussels and fries).
So right now, a great deal of walking has led to an intense amount of fatigue. This week, we get to go through orientation stuff and our intensive language class starts. I'm ready to have something constructive to do. Idleness and me do not mesh very well. Next weekend I am planning to go to The Netherlands for a concert. I will probably write again after that. Until then: gros bisous pour tout!! ciao!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

FivesFives
Fives

Me in front of the shop contemplating what to do next...actually I was waiting on Diana and Kevin.
LilleLille
Lille

Le Place de General du Gaulle- Diana and Kevin
LilleLille
Lille

Diana, Kevin, and me
Ma chambreMa chambre
Ma chambre

My kitchenette- burners on the left above the fridge; sink to the right above the tiny cabinet
Ma chambreMa chambre
Ma chambre

My sink to brush my teeth, etc. to the left of the door.
Ma ChambreMa Chambre
Ma Chambre

My wardrobe is on the wall to the right of the door. There is a desk and chair to the right of the wardrobe. On the far wall is my window overlooking a small courtyard.
Ma ChambreMa Chambre
Ma Chambre

My bed is across from my desk. The bookshelf behind the headboard serves as a divider between where I live and where I cook.
LilleLille
Lille

La Gratinee at Les 3 Brasseurs- a large tortilla like thing with grated cheese, onions, and bits of ham.


8th September 2008

church
the church in a few of your "Lille" pictures is very odd... do you know its name? I've never seen such a mix of architectual elements like that before
8th September 2008

Dana and I want to know when you are going to school. Tour pass not included. Dana wants to know how to sign up.
9th September 2008

My intensive French classes start next Monday. University classes start Sept. 22. Just send her the link that I sent you and she can subscribe to my blog through that. I love you!!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb