Ridin' Solo (solo)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Arras
August 23rd 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Theodore Roosevelt
Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.



Just finished off my first two days! So Monday was technically another training day, we shadowed the old guides and learned the ropes from them about how to run the site! I learned so much, and I got to go on two tours with Shaundel and Sao Mai. Both tours were so different so it was great to have two really neat perspectives. We learned the three different positions: Accueil (you're at the front desk of the visitors centre), Entree (Greeting visitors at the entrance), and Caribou (where you watch out for the monument and answer people's questions). It was so great to get the advice from the old guides too about what to do.

Today was our first day solo! It was just John, Lilly and I and we had a great first day on our own!! We all got to give tours, but John gave two, since he was Guide 1. Every morning we pick from the Cup O' Destin ( Translates to the Destiny cup- has numbers 1-6 on them and the person with the lowest number is guide 1 and so on, meaning they give the first tour when a group comes). The first group was French too, and John did an amazing job!!

Lilly gave the second tour to a small group of British people, and I gave the third tour (I picked the highest number so I was Guide 3). My tour was to twenty 13-14 year olds from Northern Ireland. The tour went ok, I'm not sure how enthusiastic they were, but I did my best. I learned a lot along the way though, so hopefully the next few times will run a bit smoother.

Tomorrow and Thursday are going to be weird days because we only have 2 people working, Karine and myself, so we kind of have to spread ourselves out over the three positions, and get the office staff to help cover for lunch. Should be interesting!

Starting to plan for trips as well... I'm thinking of going to Bruges and then to Brussels September 2 and 3, I'll keep everyone posted.

Hope everyone is doing well at home, and I hear mom you might come visit? Also, Kate you should come too on your reading break!!

Advertisement



30th August 2011

Waiting to hear from Kel and Ker
Hoping to make it over. I'm waiting to hear from my sisters to see if they might join me. Otherwise, I will have to read your blogs to see what I am missing. Have fun.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb