A change of heart and I hate public transport


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
December 18th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A change of heart?
The time has finally come for me to say goodbye to Millau and return home for Christmas. If you asked me a few weeks ago (maybe even a few days ago) I would have said good riddance, and that I was even contemplating never coming back. However I have had some what a change of heart.
Don’t fall off your chairs it was bound to happen sooner or later. As I was getting ready to say goodbye to my apartment I realised just how lovely it was, and even though the door handles falling off and the heating is very temperamental I have learnt to call it home.
As I was leaving our landlady passed me on the stairs and after fully understanding and been able to reply to conversation about us getting double glazing put in this weekend, I realised I am starting to improve and everything is falling into place.
On the bus journey to take my mind of feeling sick I decided to reflect on the first half of my adventure in France… at that moment we drove past a tiny little village, which I believe to be called Paigrolles. It described France perfectly for me. It had a big chateau type castle at the top of a hill and a little dry stone village which looked so medieval but beautiful. That’s exactly my idea of France. They are so medieval so behind the times, almost prehistoric; with a lack of computers and initiative but in its own little way it is beautiful and I have managed to fall in love with France all over again.
When I first arrived I could have bitched about it for days, and even though nothing has changed in that time I have learnt to deal with it. After weeks of picking away at it I have finally managed to break down the barrier between me and France, especially the language barrier! But also the culture difference I have learnt to accept it and go with the flow.
I feel like I belong here now with friends and even when I have a down day it’s never really that bad. Also I don’t get annoyed when people slag us English off, I now have the means to reply back and give them a piece of my mind (France you’re not such a shining example of a fantastic nation yourselves, so wind you neck in!)
So now I’m leaving for Christmas as much as I can’t wait to get home I know have left a little part of myself ( as well as some beautiful shoes) in Millau and I know that I actually do want to go back and it’s no longer a case of a necessity to be there but a desire.

So enough of the soppy heart to heart, let’s throw ourselves back in to the real world!
After arriving in Montpellier I went straight to the train station which was heaving, and nobody could move. I made my way upstairs and collected my ticket. I wandered around the shops for a bit as I was early, but lugging a huge suitcase round the tiny shops where the French refuse to move for you was very difficult. I bought a few magazines and a puzzle book, which was daylight robbery! €3.40 for look magazine!
I then went to sit down for a bit before the train came, however me being me just sitting down waiting for a train has to be some kind of ordeal. When I to haul my rucksack on my back I ended up doing a 360 spin with the weight of the bag and fell over, in front of loads of people how embarrassing!
Boarding the train was an absolute nightmare, a woman was travelling with 5 children who all looked to be under the age of 7 (unlucky ducky) however she dominated the whole train trying to get her brood and her 50 million bags of luggage on to the train. After taking up all the luggage space, the rest of us could get on. Lucky for me they were sat in front of me and I had the biggest weirdo ever sat next to me, she spent the whole journey singing, talking to herself and snoring!
Due to the weather the train had to slow down and therefore the journey was 40 minutes longer than expected. At the end of the journey smelling like one of the French I couldn’t wait to get to the hotel and shower!
The hotel was easy to find thankfully. It was nice and clean just a little small. It also had one of those horrible lift where you have to open a door, like going in to a room, then the doors shut behind you, needless to say it was awful, and I stuck to the stairs.
I asked the woman at reception which would be the easiest way to the airport and she told me she could order me a taxi, after telling me the price €50 euros, I decided to ask the question again and this time ask which would be the cheapest not the easiest.
She told me to get the RER and it seemed simple enough.

After getting my stuff to the room I went to the nearest shop to buy some food, a sandwich, a drink and a caramel mousse type pudding. I ate it back at the hotel where I realised my caramel pudding would have been lovely had I had a spoon…
After eating I had a shower and just chilled in the room. How else to spend a Friday night in Paris then with a kitkat and Corrie!! (sad I know)
I left the hotel around 10, and headed straight for the RER. It was, of course packed! And there was people rushing all over the station, it was all a little overwhelming. I eventually found the right platform and bought my ticket (€8.50) and waited for the train. I had to change lines once but overall it took me about 40 minutes to get to the airport.

So just waiting at the airport now, hopefully my flight won’t be delayed! Fingers crossed 


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb