The Upcoming Trips


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Upcoming Trips



For either my own remembrance cues, or to let all of you know where I'll be and when, I thought I'd give everyone an idea of the upcoming trips I'll be embarking over the next few months. So here we go...

March 16 - March 19: Strasbourg, France

Leaving Thursday night for my first ever overnight train. Not sure how that'll work out, but we'll reach Strasbourg at 5:30am, which I'm sure will be great fun. I'm going with Alison and Allison, so there will be a Canadian majority this time! Haha. We're hoping to get over to the German border since I'd at least like to say I've been to Germany - even if it's not at the top of my list of places to go.

March 24 - March 26: Luxembourg

This one is still up in the air. We don't have train tickets or anything, but it's 60 euros round trip transportation, which is pretty good for a 5 hour train! Will be going with Alison, Andrea and possibly Allison.

March 31 - April 2: Marseilles/Nice/some of Provence

Kim has kindly offered for me to stay in Marseilles with her for this weekend, and of course I took her up on the offer! I'll have a tour of Marseilles, and then a day trip to Nice, and the following day a driving tour around Provence! It should be great and I'm definitely pumped for it!

April 7 - April 8: Amsterdam

This one was just brought up today with Erin, who wants to go there. It would only be a 2 day thing as I've been told there's not a whole lot to do there aside from the Van Gogh museum, and the Anne Frank house. But I've also heard that tickets are expensive, so we'll see how this pans out.

Unknown: Versailles

I can see this being a Wednesday day trip with whoever is interested in going. Or it may be tagged on at the end of future trips.

April 13 - April 24: Rouen, D-Day Beaches, Paris, Belgium

This one will be with mom :D Needless to say, I'm pretty excited about this one! Three months without talking to my mom on a daily basis has been a big change, so I'm really excited to spend 10 days with her! I'll show her around Rouen, then head to the D-Day Beaches, Paris and Belgium. In that order.

April 25 - ?: House renting in South of France/Monaco

This is still in the works, but should probably be figured out pretty soon so we can book stuff! The question mark is there because I don't exactly know how long I'll be there considering I don't have an exam until May 10! I've basically got from April 13 - May 10 off school. Kind of cool really!

May 12 - ?: Corsica

Kim and I are in the works of looking into spending a week here after exams and before our trips around Europe (her until mid-August and me until June 30). She's recruited a few people from Marseilles who are interested too 😊

May 22 - June 15

This is the part that's up the air - but it looks likely to be filled with Spain and Italy however I choose to do it. It's either 2 Contiki tours of both places, or using my Eurail pass and travelling alone. Either seem cool, although I kind of like the fact that I could travel alone and do what I want!

June 15 or 18 - June 28 or 30

I'm in the middle of deciding on Contiki tours. I can either go to the Greek islands on my own, or tag up with Kim and her friend for Eastern Europe.

The Eastern Europe one will start in Berlin, then head around to Vienna, Prague, Warsaw I believe, and to Auschwitz. Auschwitz is the big reason I want to do this trip as I really want to see the concentration camp, but don't speak Polish and have no way of figuring out how to get there on my own! And I get to see all of the places I won't see here - and get to hang out with Kim again! (To make a total of our trips together be 4!)

But... to end of my time in Europe on the beaches in Greece seems absolutely amazing. After a month of running around, stressed out half the time, it will be nice to stay at a resort! And it's other benefit is that the tour ends on June 28, giving me ample time to take a plane back to Paris and then sleep in the airport until my final flight at 9:30am on the 30th. The Eastern Europe one says it ends on June 30, but I can leave early and take a plane from wherever I am. So it's downfall is that it'll be a bit more stressful to get back than if I was in Athens - aside from Eastern Europe being much closer geographically to France. I'm very stream of conscious tonight.

And then I'll be home. Don't expect much out of me for probably a week after I get back from Europe. I'll 1. Be completely out of it due to intense jet lag and 2. Be incredibly sad to be done with my 6 month long vacation (Because that's what it is... I can't really think of it as much of a school term due to the lack of school work!!) and 3. Be so full of stories that no one will want to come near me until I calm down!!

So now, all be jealous 😊

Advertisement



17th March 2006

The two MUST sees in Amsterdam are the Van Gogh museum (get the audio tape - it is amazing!!!) and the Heineken Experience - even better than the Guiness museum. I would skip Anne Frank house if you are on a budget as it was way overpriced and not that great.

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb