My Life as a Photographer


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Life as a Photographer



My lazy weekend didn't end up quite as lazy as my Friday had been. Alison and I decided to take a walking tour of Mt. St. Aignan on our own on Sunday (January 29), and discovered some hidden treasures and beautiful scenery just a bit off the beaten path...

I have many pictures in this entry. You have been warned.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

View From HillView From Hill
View From Hill

Once again, the Normandy weather was not the best for pictures from distances. This is Rouen from Mont Saint Aignan (this exact spot is about 5 minutes from the dorm). I'm sure I can get some better pictures as the weather gets better.
The HillThe Hill
The Hill

Not satisfied with our view of Rouen, we decided to walk a ways down the road and came to a path that led down the mountain. Ever the adventure girls, we made our way down. It was well worth the way back up!
CemeteryCemetery
Cemetery

Who knew there was a cemetery so close to my dorm?
Alison on HillAlison on Hill
Alison on Hill

Here's Alison at the spot where we stopped to take some pictures of the city below (to follow). This shows the hill we had to come down (and later go back up).
City BelowCity Below
City Below

Here's some of the quaint houses in the outskirts of Rouen.
City Below 2City Below 2
City Below 2

Another picture of the houses. I really enjoyed the smoking house.
The CastleThe Castle
The Castle

Here is the Castle/Chateaux. This is where the Nazi headquarters were. Pretty eh? I wish I had classes in here. Note the nice blue sky - a rarity to have it this blue here right now.
The Castle AgainThe Castle Again
The Castle Again

Another view of the Castle. Oh so pretty...
Nazi HideoutNazi Hideout
Nazi Hideout

I promised some pictures of the Nazi bunkers. Here's what we believe was a hideout from where the Nazi soldiers could guard the Chateaux. Seeing old war relics is still surreal for me.
Nazi Bunkers 1Nazi Bunkers 1
Nazi Bunkers 1

Here is the first of a series of pictures of the bunkers. There are two in the forest (that we found at least). Graffiti is all over them, but their historical value is still very much intact.
A View of the ChateauxA View of the Chateaux
A View of the Chateaux

This view is from beside the bunker. Quite possibly a view that many a soldier got over 60 years ago.
Forest PathForest Path
Forest Path

This is the walking path through the forest. The light and shadows were really working in my favour that day.
Forest Path 2Forest Path 2
Forest Path 2

The path from the other direction
Leaves in WinterLeaves in Winter
Leaves in Winter

Does this picture not look like a fall picture? This is winter in Normandy apparantly!
School BuildingsSchool Buildings
School Buildings

I actually go to school in these buildings. They are situated across from the Chateaux. At least I get to see it on my way to class?


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb