A Lazy Weekend


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Lazy Weekend



As the title states, I'm in for a bit of a lazy weekend. No travel plans as I plan to just hang out in the town. Today, I woke up at 12:30pm (always a blessing when having to wake up at 7:45am every morning), and walked down to mail some postcards. From there, I walked across the street to Place Colbert (a little 'shopping centre' of sorts - mostly consisting of boulangerie, banks, a cinema, and a market that seems to not be open in the past 3 days) to pay for a bus pass (since I've almost used up my 10 trips I had paid for before). 5.90 Euros later, I was off to the pastry shop to get a 'Pain au Chocolat' - what has to be a magnificent French pastry item. It's just as it sounds: bread with chocolate in it.

I stuffed the pastry into my purse (in its bag of course) and walked back across the street to the Librarie (i.e. the bookstore). I was determined to find an English section, so I headed to the top floor to the Universitaire section, thinking I'd have luck there. Of course, just as I came up the stairs, I saw "Anglais" and knew my hunch was right. I searched the one shelf that didn't have English grammaire and language books and instead had Literature. I picked up Jack Kerouac's "On The Road" as I've heard just about tons from it. 6.75 Euros. In Canadian, that's about $10 - pretty good for a book these days. I looked around a bit - seeing a Harry Potter book for 12 Euros - something that's probably closer to $30 at home. Not having read any of the Harry Potter books before (but seeing the movies), I put it back.

Upon getting to the register, I was told it was "Six zero sept" (6.07), meaning it was a bit cheaper than I thought. Always a good thing for me.
Instead of coming straight back to my room, I took a walk past the dorm and went on a search for a little market or convenience store to get some milk. I actually ended up finding a cool little overlook over Rouen that I didn't know was so close. I had gone on the road just beside it before, but didn't know it was actually in walking distance to my room. My goal this weekend is to go back there and take some pictures. Today is a bit overcast, so the pictures won't be all that great. But, now here I am now, back in my dorm room, watching Sex & The City DVDs that I borrowed from Erin, and just hanging out.

My weekend has possibilities of having some substance since both Alison (who will be joining Hannah, Erin and I on our trip during winter break to England/Ireland/Scotland) and Andrea (who is in a few of my classes) are both hanging out here for the weekend, and have both said they want to do stuff. I believe that's much better than sitting in my room watching DVDs - no matter how relaxing that seems to be! I just wanted to check in even though I have no more pictures to show. Enjoy the weekend all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb