I'm Alive!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
January 9th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cathedral du Notre DameCathedral du Notre DameCathedral du Notre Dame

This is Cathedral Notre Dame. It's the beautiful church downtown Rouen. The large towers are not symmetrical, and the French students say that adds to its charm (I agree). Monet was very inspried by the Cathedral. It's even more impressive inside.

I'm Alive!



Hello all,

Although I have yet to write an official email to family and friends about this blog, I wanted to start this up to let those who have the address know that I'm good.

It's been a loooong past 4 days, but I'm starting to get settled in. I got my internet today as well as my cell phone (number to be sent out to those interested in calling lonely Kara in France!!) I've had my ups and downs, but I'm starting to really enjoy the history and people of France. The language barrier has proven to be a bit more difficult than I thought, but I'm hanging in there. I tend to freeze up when in shops buying things!

A little tidbit on the history of Rouen. Tonight, I was hanging out with a few of the other exchange students I've met (there's been so many, I can't even count!!) and they mentioned the bunkers out behind one of our campus buildings...

I'm not sure if I've mentioned this to anyone, but during the Second World War, Rouen (or Mont St. Aignan if you want to be specific
StreetsStreetsStreets

These are the streets within Rouen. They are painted like this to capture the charm of the city. (By the way, the trees are NOT covered with snow - they painted the trees!)
to where I actually am) was used as the headquarters for the Nazi occupation of Normandy. One of the buildings that I'll be having classes (it's actually the IFI building, which means I'll be situated there), was actually the building that was used by the Nazis! It's an old mansion that we called the Chateau (Castle). It's quite nice. I forgot to take a picture to include with this blog, but I'm sure I'll show it soon! Anyway, so the Nazis hung out in the Chateau, and behind it, in the woods were bunkers that led to hidden tunnels under the city and going down towards Rouen. As rumour has it, the Nazis would kill anyone who knew about the tunnels. Because of this, it is said that the campus and woods are haunted.

Now. I'm a bit skeptical, but I'm always interested in a little scare. So, Erin (one of the girls), and I got our coats and mitts on and headed out past the castle. We went in to the woods (which because it's winter, were barren with no leaves - and no snow by the way!) and she led me to see one of the
SignSignSign

Like the sign says, this is the site of where Joan of Arc (or Jeanne d'Arc) was burned at the stake in the 1400s.
bunkers. We didn't get really close because we heard a sound, screamed, and ran away. So it was much of a failed attempt.

So yes, I've arrived in France. Rouen is beautiful and everything you'd expect from a French city. It's got the tasty boulangeries, old churches, accordian players, yummy cheese, bread and yes the wine, and of course shops with berets. I haven't met any rude French people. As long as I attempt to speak French as much as possible, everyone is nice, and think it's good that I'm at least trying.

I won't go into details about all the frustrations of the past while with my Internet, Credit cards, plane rides, taxis, noisy chattering Spanish suitemates and just general hunger and tiredness (Don't worry mom, I'm fed and I'm sleeping better now). But a good thing is that I'm making tons of friends and starting to make plans for our travels. So far, here's the running list of places I'm going to visit:


*Obviously Paris! (Looks like the end of January for our first weekend there)
*Feb 4/5 - Loire Valley for some castles and wine
*February break (10-20): England and Ireland
My RoomMy RoomMy Room

This is my wonderful living space. Yes, it's as small as it looks. It also contains a small kitchen. I share a bathroom and shower with another girl (who is from Brazil).

*March 17-20: Dublin (FOR ST. PADDY'S!!)
*End of March: Mont St. Michel
*April break (14-23): Belgium/whatever with Mommy 😊
*After the semester (May 14 - June 30): Whatever ends up working out - hopefully Italy, Spain and Greece

It should be an exciting time I'm sure. It's just a matter of getting over the fact that I'm thousands of miles away from all of you, and you know I'm missing everyone very much now. Hope everyone is good and that Canada is not too cold - France is quite nice right now. I hope the rest of the winter is like this!! There's absolutely no snow on the ground, all green grass. It was snowing a bit when we arrived, but that turned to rain, and there hasn't been a day where there wasn't a bit of rain or clouds. I'm fine with it though. Anyways, enjoy the pictures, and take care.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Another StreetAnother Street
Another Street

This is the main street of Rouen that contains shops (some quite expensive, but nice all the same). I don't think that clock works.


16th January 2006

Exciting!
Rouen looks so great--can't wait to visit!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb