France - Day one - Arromanches


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Arromanches-les-Bains
September 17th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Port Winston - ArromanchesPort Winston - ArromanchesPort Winston - Arromanches

The Concrete Water breaks can be seen in the distance where they were sunk after being constructed and towed across the channal soon after D-Day
As I approached Arromanches les Bains my first sight was the 360-degree cinema which was on top of the hill overlooking Arromanches and gold beach as it was named at the time of the D-Day landings on the 6th June 1944. I'd visited the cinema a few years earlier so I decided not to waste the lovely weather but continue into the town center. I rode down to the car park by the museum and pulled up at the barrier where the attendant said something to me and once again I didn't understand a word until I told him I was English. He then explained it was free parking for bikes providing I parked in the areas painted yellow. These areas weren't specific areas bike parking spaces just areas which were too small for a car or odd shaped areas, France seems more friendly towards bikers than many places. I parked up and went for a walk around.

Arromanches was the site of the Mulberry harbour that was constructed soon after the initial D-Day landings and the remains of Port Winston as it was nicknamed are still visible to date. The concrete cassions which were constructed in English and towed
My Home for the next 3 nightsMy Home for the next 3 nightsMy Home for the next 3 nights

I decided to stay here where it was quiet and with good facilities
across the channel then sunk along with some block ships can still be seen where they placed to form the outer water break. The museum where I'd parked the bike has working models of the harbour and how it worked with the rising and falling tides and is well worth a visit. I walked along the sea front to where the boats launch and managed to chat to one of the French divers who spoke excellent English and told me when I could get air fills from their dive club. I then walked back through the main street to the bike. Because of the fine weather I decided to camp and use Arromanches as my base then travel out in different directions each day. I went to the Municipal camp site which was only a short distance from the town center, about 10-minutes walk. I just managed to get my tent up as a short shower started and I wondered if I had done the right thing camping. After about 20-minutes the rain stopped and the sky brightened up so I got showed and went into town for an evening meal and a couple of drinks before turning in for the night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb