A down day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Limousin » Creuse » Crocq
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I just laid low for most of the day. Still feeling a bit under the weather but I think I'm on the mend as I could eat today 😊 Yesterday I slept from 9 am to 5 pm with my stomach pains waking me up every hour but last night I slept through the night. I liked that! I had to drive into Guéret today to get the rental car checked because it had a pesky message telling me "le niveau de l'huile à réajuster". That lasted for a bit and then it said "niveau de l'huile correct" and then back and forth for the last 2 weeks. So, today I decided I'd better get it looked at before I make the 4 hour drive to Bordeaux tomorrow. Thank heavens for Google maps 😊 I found the place no problem 😊 The next hurdle was that the guy there didn't speak English so I had to use my French lol My vocabulary regarding cars in English is questionable so you can imagine in French! But, I guess my French is much better than I think as he completely understood me WITHOUT pointing and sign language! Of course, I had the hour's drive to think about what I was going to say before I got there lol At any rate, he simply checked the oil and poured some in and checked it again and I was on my way. I had to stop and buy some gazole (diesel) and it cost me 50 Euros and that's AFTER I put 20 Euros in just 50 kilometres before. Gas ain't cheap here! Luckily, this car gets a good 900 km/tank! As my luck would have it, there was an interesting store just across from the gas station so I just had to check it out. They had great shoes there and I was very close to picking up a couple but a cooler head prevailed! I stopped in at an Intermarché (like a Safeway) and picked up a few things I thought I might be able to eat and then headed back to Crocq where I have spent the rest of day listening to music, reading and playing mah jong on the computer off and on. Heading to Bordeaux tomorrow morning and Ken arrives on Monday! I can't wait!!

Advertisement



20th July 2008

Tired but still pumped!!!
Hi my dear.. Glad you are feeling a little better.. Had no trouble coming home but since I had the same seat and all were booked and I counted 32 kids of various ylung ages i upgraded and it was well worth the $.. In Club class the sardine ambiamce is not evident amd although the serive is not up to Bus. Class on other planes there was certainly nothning wrong with the care and feeding of the comfortable and uncrowded passengers. everything got home in one piece and i didn't have to pay any duty on anything..Just mentioned all the wime and Rillette and all was ok. mThe customs gut said no one can come home from France with on.y 2 bottles of wine and he passed me though..We play golf this AM @ 10:30 and I am fairly well rested..Take care and look after the big guy as well as you looked after me.You were wonderful.. XXXXOOOO Mom
20th July 2008

I don't know about anyone else ....
... but I would love to see the place you are staying, inside and out. If it doesn't take too much time. I don't remember seeing the domestic side of your stay, how's the kitchen? :) I am glad you are feeling better, be sure to get enough rest. Trucking about nonstop can wear you down, as well as nonstop bargain hunting. lol

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb