Mas de la Fargassa


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Perpignan
October 4th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mas de la Fargassa

So I am in the Pyrenees mountains of Southern France, in a homestead much removed from the world . I like it . There are 10 woofers here ; that is, organic farm labourers like myself. We come from Germany (3), America (2), Holland (1), Britain (3) and myself.

We sleep in tents or caravans, shower once every three or so days and eat magestically. Fresh fruit from the fields and trees, cheeses, breads and nuts - it is all fantastic.

But it is quite hard work ! Yesterday we picked raspberries. Sounds easy enough, but try not eating any as you go ! Next we prepared lunch and I was given my daily job : salad green collection (much much more than romaine lettuce go into our salads). It gives me a chance to experiment with many edible greens and put my botanical knowledge to work. It’s brilliant.

After lunch, myself and the lovely Americans, Cassandra and Amanda, walked over to the primary field and had the daunting task of weeding. The field is innumerable hectares big. The weed we sought (thankfully just one) had sicked the horse Jamica, who ate it accidentally last week.

Afterwards, I prepared salads and the girls prepared a massive farm fresh omelet, as well as american style hashbrowns. And it was good !

So that was how I spent my first work day (and the dishes after dinner). Whew. Talk about slave labour !

In time, I will be posting pictures, but as this is a dial up connection, I don’t rally have three hours to spare.

I hope everyone is doing well in Canada.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb