Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
February 23rd 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm sure all my thousands of travel blog fans have been anxiously awaiting a new entry.... I guess the last time I posted was right after I got back in January. Things have been pretty low key. We went on a cool day trip a few weekends ago to this pretty town and hiked up to the top of this mountain where there were castle ruins. That was cool. Other than that its been the same old school stuff, movies, celebrating a few birthdays. I also went to see the Marseille ballet company perform here. It was a modern piece. Kind of a social commentary about urban life and killing trees and things of that nature but expressed through interpretive dance. interesting. So, i just got back from Paris yesterday evening. I went last Friday because it is winter break right now. I was dog sitting for friends of mom and dad's. Their apartment is amazing. I wish i had taken pictures. It had four bedrooms, 3.5 baths, a tv room, huge living room and spacious kitchen. I'll spare the real-estate like descriptions used in ads for houses for sale. Bottom line, it was great. The family left Saturday morning. they had also had friends (the people they rent to apartment from) staying through that sunday, so I didn't have the house to myself until Sunday, but it was great to wander around paris. On saturday I saw a modern art museum. I saw lots of works by artists I am studying in my avant garde art history class which was cool. I also saw this huge half circle room with floor to ceiling canvases (gym height ceilings) of Raoul Dufy- a french painter that I love. There was also a room with white walls, (one section that had blinking lights) and nature noises coming from speakers. different.... I also met up with a few people that I know who are studying abroad in Paris this semester. sunday i allowed myself a lounge day. I walked to the dog around the hood, and watched some movies, walked to dog some more, picked up its dog poo, drank coffee and ate tartines ( i'm so french) and watered plants. My friend Bevin came sunday. On monday we.....tried to go to the wax museum but it was too expensive(15euro!) pretty much just imagine famous people made of wax and i'm sure that is all we missed out on. We mostly just wandered around since that is free. we went to H&M, no luck there for me, and cooked dinner at the house. there is this amazing chain in france called PIcard that is gourmet frozen food for pretty cheap. so we got yummy food and these chocolate cakes that you bake and then they have a chocolate explosion of hot melted chocolate from the middle like a volcano. we watched a movie and went to bed early. except I think i was an insomniac for a little while and called the sisters before falling asleep. Tuesday we lounged a bit in the morning and went out and about in the afternoon. we ate dinner in Chinatown- I think we wandered near the opera, then the Latin quarter. Wednesday Bevin went to Mont Saint Michel and I went to the museum l'orangerie. I was early and ended up being one of the first in line which was lucky because it was really crowded. This museum just re-opened after 20 some years of being closed. It's main sttraction are the two circular rooms with huge canvases of Mone'ts water lillies (nympheas) painted at different times of the day. It was awesome. there was also a nice private collection with a huge range of art. After that I wandered near the Opera and went into the huge department store called Printemps and looked longingly at all of the beautiful but way too expensive designer clothes. Then I went to Centre Pompidou the inside out building that houses a library and a wonderful modern art exhibit where I got to see more works from artists that I am stuyding. there is also a great view of the city from the top floor when you can see Sacre Coeur. After that I wandered some more and met up with Bevin for dinner then went back to the apartment. Thursday morning I left the house and walked to this park called parc monceau, then met up with my friend georgia for a café before leaving to come back to montpellier. Now i'm back. I pretty much adore Paris. There are endless things to do. I might just have to move there, but coming back to Montpellier, I'm grateful to be in a bit of a smaller place for this school year. Its nice to know where everything is even though it feels small sometimes. It was great to be in an american household and eat eggs and pancakes for breakfast. The family is so nice and generous. But I still love the french lifestyle. Better watch out mom and dad, you may have to buy an apartment in Paris for me! I loved being in a house that I had to myself. Living in a host family is a great experience but I am learning how much I value having my own space. I feel good about the rest of the semester. I always get re-energized after traveling. Plus, kappie dearest is coming to visit followed by marmar and then mom and dad! Lots to look forward to!

Advertisement



23rd February 2007

Hmm, I find "we watched a movie and went to bed" to be a little misleading. Don't you mean, "I fell asleep during the movie, leaving Bevin alone to decipher weird murderous dream sequences involving badly-dressed teenagers."

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb