DisneyBrand: Splendour without diminishment


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Serris
March 1st 2015
Published: March 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Do you know the Provincial Motto of BC?Of any of the provinces? Did you even know we had mottos?

I didn't. Not until I started my research project on Victoria for my Anglais Renforcer ( Reinforced English) class. It is "Splendor Sine Occasu" which translates from Latin to, "Splendour Without Diminishment". That would be glory which never decreases.

4 days ago, I visited Disneyland Paris with my host mom, Alison, Alison's boyfriend (Philippe) and her friend (Camille). I hadn't been there in 8 years. I lived another half of my life before returning. I thought I would remember more. I only really remembered the map, like the lay out and, a few restaurants. Since my last visit, they had added another complete section on the side: a universal studios park. Now, I have never been a fan of rides; I've never gone on the zipper at the Saanich Fair, and I never liked the roller coasters at Sandspit in Cavendish, PEI.

So logically, I didn't tell anyone that I hate big scary rides... I just went along with it.

First, The Tower Of Terror. Yep, pretty friken scary. Did I like it? Nope. Did I do it? Yep.

Next, the Rock 'n' Roller Coaster Starring Aerosmith. Including a 360° flip right off the bat, and another half way through. Did I like it? noppee. Did I do it twice? yes.

They weren't that bad, I mean, on the second go of Aerosmith, I even opened my eyes and stopped screaming momentarily. The point is, I wasn't going to let my fear contribute to a lack of possible experiences here.

At any age, I think the magic of disney can mystify us, and if it doesn't, the prices will. They'll leave you in a dazed semi-comatose state where you look like you're in awe of the magic of disney, when really you just tried to buy a princess dress and realized it was more than 200€. Splendour without diminishment, through expense.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.365s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.3148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb