Proud and Perilous Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 1st 1997
Published: September 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello my fellow travelers!

This is the first of two posts that I'll make about a trip to France and England in October 1997. This post covers my time in France and the road to get there.

This was the first time I traveled on my own and after a long and dreary bus ride I arrived in Paris together with both nice and awful people who was to become my classmates for the coming three weeks. Before I arrived here I had an image of Paris as the capital of love, a place of grand and impeccable splendor and a shining beacon of light in the world. I guess I had kind of put it on a pedestal in my naive youth. What I found was quite different from what I had expected.

I found a Paris overrun by aggressive street vendors and a feeling of darkness closing in around me. Don't get me wrong, the splendor was there as well, I visited the Notre-Dame de Paris and I went to the top of the Eiffel Tower and enjoyed the view.

There, far removed from the ground, I could see Paris in a loving light where the sensations below couldn't get to me. I did end up buying from some street vendors near the Eiffel Tower, one of the mandatory statuettes depicting the tower. It's one of the few memorabilia I've bought in my younger years that I no longer have in my possession.

The others I traveled with shared my sentiments, when we left our hotel room in the evening to find something to eat we all turned back quite quickly, disheartened by the stares of the shadowy figures surrounding us. The others all settled for minor sandwiches from the nearest convenience store while I took my chances with a sorry excuse for a pizza that was laying alone in a heating cabinet, it looked like it had far pasted it's expiration but I was too hungry to care. The others didn't dare to chance it though.

Back at the room we flipped through the television but everything was dubbed to French, trying to watch an Arnold Schwarzenegger action movie with Arnold dubbed in the weakest French voice ever is a horror I will never forget.

Luckily for me the pizza was okay (but my stomach is pretty hardy) and I was
Captain Hook's ShipCaptain Hook's ShipCaptain Hook's Ship

Disneyland Paris
the only one of us that went to sleep with a full belly that night. At this point I must admit that I was wondering what I had gotten myself into when I went on this trip and I was starting to miss home. I was just hoping that this trip would turn around for the better.

The next day we all headed to Disneyland Paris and while it was a leg up from the rest of Paris it did leave some things to be desired. My strongest memory of this amusement park is from the haunted house, during the elevator ride down into the house there was a guy that walked around amongst us dressed in a cape that tried to scare us in a softly spoken French tone, it didn't work. The animations and special effects inside the house was cool though and a couple of them was genuinely quite spooky, but mostly is was just visually impressive.

From there I headed out on the Mark Twain Riverboat and went around the Tom Sawyer Island on the Rivers of America. It was a nice ride and would have been quite relaxing if it hadn't been for
Three of my ClassmatesThree of my ClassmatesThree of my Classmates

In the Middle of the English Channel
the crowds.

Next I checked out the rest of Frontierland, the Fort Wilderness and Big Thunder Mountain, before I headed into the Fantasyland. Here I went through the hedge maze from Alice in Wonderland and I also joined up with one of my classmates and took a rest on the steps of Cinderella's Palace before I topped it all off by checking out Captain Hook's Ship and the Skull Rock from Peter Pan.

All in all this was a better experience of France than what I had yesterday, but considering how yesterday went I guess it didn't really take much to top it. Still, at least I could now leave France feeling somewhat satisfied.

We took a bus to Calais where we boarded the ferry to Dover, it was a fairly bumpy ride with high waves. Being from an old family of sailors I guess it ran in my blood because I loved it. I stood on deck and experiences a thrilling sense of freedom while most of the other passengers was puking their guts out.

My next post will cover my time in England and until then I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

View of ParisView of Paris
View of Paris

Eiffel Tower
View of ParisView of Paris
View of Paris

Eiffel Tower
View of ParisView of Paris
View of Paris

Eiffel Tower
View of ParisView of Paris
View of Paris

Eiffel Tower
Statue of Ferdinand FochStatue of Ferdinand Foch
Statue of Ferdinand Foch

Place du Trocadéro, Paris
Disneyland ParisDisneyland Paris
Disneyland Paris

Disneyland Paris
Mark Twain RiverboatMark Twain Riverboat
Mark Twain Riverboat

Disneyland Paris
Tom Sawyer IslandTom Sawyer Island
Tom Sawyer Island

Disneyland Paris
Big Thunder MountainBig Thunder Mountain
Big Thunder Mountain

Disneyland Paris
Skull RockSkull Rock
Skull Rock

Disneyland Paris
Old JeepOld Jeep
Old Jeep

Disneyland Paris
Three of My ClassmatesThree of My Classmates
Three of My Classmates

In the Middle of the English Channel
One of My ClassmatesOne of My Classmates
One of My Classmates

In the Middle of the English Channel
One of My ClassmatesOne of My Classmates
One of My Classmates

In the Middle of the English Channel


13th September 2016

You and I had a different first impression of Paris
First time I went to Paris was also in the 90-ies and my experience was totally different from yours. I absolutely loved Paris, the culture, the food, the people, the lot! Even the less beautiful and right out rough sides of Paris I loved. It is funny how two people can have such a totally different impression of the same place, isn't it? Ake
14th September 2016

You and I had a different first impression of Paris
Very true Ake. :) Luckily my more recent experiences with France has been far better. I still haven't been back to Paris though but I will return there for sure to get a better impression of it. :)

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb