The Internet Sage Continues...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 27th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My internet connection in my room is on the blink again, so I may be a sketchy correspondent for a bit.

Definitely the most FRUSTRATING part of living on my own is trying to maintain my internet connection in my apartment, away from the technical wizardry of my mother and the Georgetown tech people. I don't know if the internet hates me personally or all french computers, but I have had one issue after another in this apartment... Grrrr!!!!

I think I am going to put the stupid cable modem back in my room and just walk over the cord all the time...I HATE all this on again/off again stuff! Right now the wireless signal-catcher (which is a USB adapter) is plugged into my computer but keeps dropping the signal from hub wireless modem, meaning that I keep getting a message that says, "The connection with your access point has failed." I think it may be a hardware problem, because it DOES connect for about 15 seconds...and then drops the signal. SO frustrating!!!I HATE computers!!! If anyone can help me please do so!!! Please!!!

So the internet sucks but Paris is great. Went out to a jazz bar with a group of Sciences Po kids last night (met a couple new friends, met up with a couple I already knew) and spent a good couple hours listening to the Stephen Patry band and then an open jam session in an ancient cellar that dates back to 1421 (if the scratching on the stone walls are correct....) It was lots of fun a great atmosphere and obviously a very popular spot for the locals. Good jazz, and free to get in! (Consommation obligatoire, lol). Check it out next time you're in Paris...the Caveau des Oubliettes, near the Saint Michel metro stop on the Rive Gauche near Notre Dame. Actually, for that matter, just head into the Latin Quarter, which starts as soon as you cross the bridge from Ile-de-la-Cité and head south towards La Sorbonne. It's definitely the place to go for nightlife, with bars, pubs, restaurants, creperies, and sidewalk-takeout galore. All the restaurants compete for customers by offering fixed menus starting as low as 8 euroes (up to 20, usually) so it's a really good deal for dinner. I went out and got a 3-course greek meal with Dorothy last night for 8 euros... you can't beat that! You also have a huge selection of ethnic food...indian, lebanese, moroccan, greek, french, chinese, japanese, english pub food, mexican... the list goes on. Think "Adam's Morgan" in Washington DC, only with smaller streets and hopping until the small hours of the morning! I love it.

Took the Noctilien night bus home afterwards and slept in today... : ) Hooray for no classes on a Wednesday. During this stage d'orientation I have been taking 14 hours of french a week and then 4 hours of another class, learning the academic techniques used at Sciences Po. (Plus homework!!!) I am learning a lot, but sometime the mind needs a break. I told one of the girls from ScPo last night that "la cervelle est un peu fatiguée" (my brain's kinda tired!) and she laughed...but then told me that my french was good, so that was gratifying...I must be improving! Looking forward to the start of classes on October 9... but I've got plenty to do between now and then! On Saturday I am going to Reims, an hour away from Paris; and today I am going to the Père Lachaise cimitière, where all the famous Parisiens are buried. Tomorrow night, a Bulgarian music concert at the embassy... so cool! Life rolls on...


Thinking of you from Paris...

~R

PS A very Happy Birthday to my brother who just turned 16... clear the roads!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb