December 13-14


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 23rd 2013
Published: December 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We've found that we can't over do museums so we had to choose the last one we would see. We went to see Rodin. I prefer 3 dimensional art forms to most 2 dimensional forms. The Rodin museum is fantastic. He loves the body. All his statues scream emotion to me. Having just come from visiting so many incredible sites of the ancients, it was very easy to see his fascination with the classic times. Even those very simple, smooth lined faces and bodies wanted to speak to me. I think I liked walking the gardens best; the more than life size pieces were powerful.

The last days are bitter sweet. I will enjoy going home, but I don't want to leave Jacob behind. We have been saying Merry Christmas to each other everyday. It's making us sad. Paris is beautiful in the strong bright sunny days we've had, with their ting of frost. I realize it may be the last time I'm here. So we wandered my favourite quartier one more time, Le Quartier Saint Michel. We caught Notre Dame fully lit by the sun, and we had one more typically French meal of escargot and cassoulet with a glass of red wine for me. I hugged Jacob tightly goodbye. And then ended with a very positive last note for the warmth of the Parisiennes. I couldn't get a taxi booked without a phone. So the downstairs neighbour, instead of lending me his, offered to drive me himself at 4:15am on a Sunday. I couldn't express my gratefulness enough.

Good Night and Sweet Dreams


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb