The Eiffel Tower if my date to every meal


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 7th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

so i had to move to a new apartment again. i packed all my thing, and it took two trips half way across the city (changing trains once each way), but i'm all settled. And the view. Its like a postcard. I can see the Eiffel Tower every time I'm in the kitchen, and if i'm in the second bedroom I can see that, plus the sacre coeur. and thats just the start. The paris skyline is way prettier than Edmontons...but i'm biased. I'm in love with the Eiffel Tower. Photos really don't do it justice!

Yesterday was the first Sunday of August, which to you may mean nothing, but in Paris, it means every museum is free for the entire day.

It also means there is a four hour wait in every linem at every monument, museum, and metro station. Oh and the supermarkets and elevators, just too really get in the spirit.

My original plan for yesterday was to go grocery shopping, visit the Musee de Picasso and the Musee de Rodin, and picnic with my friends in the Jardin de Tuileries by the Musee de Louvre.

It took 3 hours to shop, thanks to the lineup (and the fact that only Monoprix and Faimeprix are open on sundays), then I waited 45 minutes for the elevator to get to the 12th floor of my apartment building (my ice cream was half melted). Then i even had to wait in line for the shower in my own apartment, since my roommate seemed to have every person she has ever met staying in the apartment for the weekend.

By the time i got onto the metro (i had to take 2 trains), and into the lineup at the Musee Picasso, they announced that admissions were over for the day, as the museum closed at 5. it was 4. i was quite mad. And my friends had dropped off the face of the earth, so i dined with the Tour de Eiffel.

SOunds kinda like a drag but not really. I walked around my neighborhood, which is gorgeous, theres a canal and a million parks.

More later, i have to go back to class




Advertisement



7th August 2006

Don't Call
Hello there Sweet Pea. Sounds like all is well and you are really enjoying yourself. Please do not take this the wrong way but don't call. Every time you do, we get disconnected. If things get hairy, then call but other than that do not worry, all is well at home and we want you to have the time of your life. We all send kisses. Miss you bunches. Let me know when your return flight is. Love Mom, Ryan, Halo, Ouiji and Winx. xoxoxoxox

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb