Show Me the Monet


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 20th 2013
Published: June 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Apr 20, 2013.

An age ago I discovered Vincent Van Gogh. I read everything I could get my hands on about his life and work and had an opportunity to see a breath-taking exhibition at the Art Gallery of Ontario. He was my introduction to the paradigm of the tortured, unacknowledged and unappreciated genius, whose recognition only comes well after his death, when the world has had a chance to catch up. You can think of many examples, and not just in the arts.

Any extension of a Van Gogh interest leads directly to the group of artists popularly known as "The Impressionists." Vincent, though not one of the actual group, is considered to be one of the last of the genre.

By coincidence, in the fall of 2012, I was engaged in a DVD- based course titled “From Monet to Van Gogh: A History of Impressionism,” presented by Dr. Richard Brettell (U. of Texas.) His description of Napoleon III's razing and rebuilding of Paris beginning in the 1850’s, and the impact this and the disastrous Franco-Prussian war had on the artistic community of France, inspired my keen interest. The notion of a personal visit began to take shape. A 14-day Trafalgar Tour titled “The Best of France” caught my eye. We were on our way in April.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb