Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I keep losing track of time because I'm just having a blast. I'm really acquiring and insider's view because I am living with a family. Wednesday I woke up at 1pm. A curse and a blessing. I really needed to sleep. I accompanied Garance on her errands all day and it was sooooooo nice to not be in touristic places. I still have not seen the Eiffel Tower. That night We watched the football game with some family friends and although there was a language barrier the fact that France won the semi- finals left no emotional barriers. The little French I know allowed me to hodge podge my way through things. I spent a long time speaking with her mom and a family friend but it was fantastic.

The next day was the first day I ventured by myself into Paris to head to Le Musé D'Orsay. Forgive me if I spelled it wrong. I can't even spell in English. MY friend's mom helped me some of the way on the métro and then I was on my own but honestly, it wasn't that bad. I know enough french to aid me when I'm lost and Lord knows my accent has already improved even if its just been a short while.

One thing that keeps throwing me are the men speaking to me in the streets. One saw me and said 'wow' and several asked me how I was doing in French. Once when I was speaking English un homme got excited about that!!! It's so weird. But after all that, I made my way to the musée and it was fantastic. I was angry that the Rodin exhibit was closed but they still had some of his work on display. You can feel the statues moving; thats how amazing he is. I saw some famous artists I knew and was introduced to some new ones that I really admired. I enjoyed being alone there because there was no one to hurry me along from room to room.

On my way out a man who worked in the museum struck up a conversation with me in French and when he discovered I was American he wondered if all looked like me and such. Haha!!! That's so weird. He also wondered if we were all shy. I don't know why he asked that but then he had to go back to work.

After the musée I quickly navigated the métro to my friend's family shop and we took a long walk home so she could show me a few of the neighborhoods. Later that night she made dinner as I wrote a million and one post cards and we ate with one of her friends who came over. Also, her sister came back from a vacation so I got to meet her. Their English is all so good I'm rather ashamed of my meagre French!!! Anyway, the friend was a doll and it was fun despite the fact I had a bit of trouble following them. But they always caught me up.

And today. Well, I'm not exactly sure. One of the friends who came over for les demi-finals is going to show me around today and I honestly have no idea what he plans. All I do know is my camera is coming with. I've not nearly taken enough photos. So off I go to explore Paris.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



8th July 2006

Spaz, it sounds like you are having an absolute blast...I am soooo jealous! Keep up with the updates, I am living vicariously through you!!! Love u tons and miss u bunches! XOXO
8th July 2006

one thing that bothered me when i was in france was how apparently rodin donated a hell of a lot of his artwork to the country and then he lost like everything, and asked to stay in a museum that was solely his works overnight, and the gov refused and he died of pneumonia or something sorry...somewhat unhappy gruesome fact...
27th November 2007

I saw Rodin a while ago in BC for an art history class... he was so good...

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb