Bundled Up in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 11th 2012
Published: February 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

the Champs de Marsthe Champs de Marsthe Champs de Mars

Notice the blue skies and the empty playground. Some days it's been as cold as -3° C.
Well, I'm back in Paris again for a brief visit to see two of my sons, their partners and my 18-month-year-old granddaughter. It's COLD here, and everyone is bundled up in heavy coats, hats, scarves, and mittens. But I love it because it's also very sunny, as you'll see from the photos (6 in all, scroll down if necessary).

I've enjoyed babysitting and seeing everyone again. I was able to stay in my apartment for a week and have been staying the rest of the time with friends and my son Sebastien and his wife. I've eaten out quite a bit,have been to the movies a lot, and have visited 3 exhibits that all have Paris themes: "Cezanne and Paris" at the Luxembourg Museum and "Sempé, a bit of Paris" and "Robert Doisneau: Les Halles Market" at the Paris Town Hall. Am also going to two book clubs I belong to tomorrow and Monday nights. I even got to a talk at the American Library about Obama and the elections by an American journalist (formerly of Time magazine) who lives part of the year in Paris (Donald Morrison). Speaking of elections, just as in the U.S., there's "election fever" here.
Tuilleries GardensTuilleries GardensTuilleries Gardens

frozen pond with Louvre Museum in the distance
Sarkozy is due to announce his candicacy this week. I definitely don't want him to be reelected, so, since I won't be here to vote in the spring, I've given a proxy to my neighbor upstairs to vote for me at the local elementary school on our street. Our apartment building has just had its facade "sand-blasted" and painted and so is sparkling clean. It was fun being back in my old neighborhood. I also got a chance to see my physical therapist and my family doctor. I'm a big fan of the French medical corps, who I find very helpful and "humane".

I'm returning to Berkeley on Wednesday, February 15 and will be back again in Paris in June. In the meantime, watch for my upcoming "Letter from Berkeley", a newsletter I'm about to launch. And by the way, my third son, Eric John Kaiser, who lives in Portland, Oregon, and is a singer/songwriter is just about to launch his 4th CD. (see http://www.ericjohnkaiser.com/news1.html for details)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Taking in the RaysTaking in the Rays
Taking in the Rays

Bundled-up Parisians in the Tuilleries Gardens
homeless in Parishomeless in Paris
homeless in Paris

sleeping above metro warm air vent
talk at American Librarytalk at American Library
talk at American Library

"How Obama Lost America".
La Grande RoueLa Grande Roue
La Grande Roue

It's on the Place de la Concorde. Photo taken from the Tuilleries Gardens.


11th February 2012

newsletter
Hi Hillary, I look forward receiving the first issue of the Berkeley Newsletter, Bon voyage back to Berkeley, Regards, amitiés, Sylvie
13th February 2012

Hi Hilary - have a good trip back and better weather in California. I plan to come to Berkeley in April...seems like we are always ships crossing in the night, but you never know...do you have a phone there? bises, Martha

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb