Le Update...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

At fifteen cents a minute this will be short.


We sailed from Rosslare, Ireland to Cherbourg, France. Cherbourg finally provided the cheese selection about which I have fantasized for a lifetime. We stayed for two nights at a charming (in a sketchy way) hotel where the manager fell victim to our cute/helpless routine that worked so well in Government Center. Without speaking much French at all, we got around okay. The first day we bought copious amounts of cheese and baguette and sat beside some old fountain and ate until we couldn't eat anymore...then five minutes later we sat in a cafe and had pastry. GOOD LORD I almost believed in god for a second there. We also climbed a Mountain. Pictures forthcoming...

The second day we rented bikes. That's right. Bikes. Took those along the coast to a neary by cape (La Hague) and spent a very very chilly half hour on the beach. We must have been quite a sight, riding along the coast with a giant baguette poking from my backpack, both of us swerving all over the path, screaming whenever another cyclist dared pass by.

Today we took the train into Paris. Though we have been here only a few hours, we are already in love. Not with each other. Each other, we are beginning to hate.

Did I mention I rode a bike??

A more extended rambling on Dublin is trapped in my laptop, which I can't plug in yet but when I do you may expect another good long blog wherein you may read about the future of Ireland's literature, Pinky and Stinky - the most awkward human beings alive, and I'll probably manage to mention that I rode a bike, say, five more times.



(Sara, it has come to my attention, isn't fond of this form of communication. She has been stuck in her sketch pad and her drawings will be uploaded ASAP.)




Advertisement



21st June 2006

Le Busy and tres miss your self sames
Hey I admit i was worried for a few days there. Sounds like a great trip. I love you two. And I miss you more than I expected. But never mind poor old Dad. Have tons of fun. Send names of where you stay please to make me feel better. Much news re shows and busy stuff. No giant contract but getting some gigs. Love Dad

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb