Everyone Should Move Here. Now Would Be Good.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 26th 2011
Published: September 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have six minutes to write this until i run out of internet time. That's not a lot of time to craft a hilarious yet poignant look at my last few days here.

So when in doubt please refer to the title of this entry.

The last couple of days I've done some things that my dad would find boring. Museums and art galleries. I went to the Pompidou, the modern art museum after writing my last entry. I did like it quite a bit, it has a lot of Matisse and Picassos. Mostly though, I liked the buidling itself. It has these long tubes every where. One of which use used as the "hallway" for the escalators. It was about 45 degrees in there, but it was still pretty cool. The pompidou also has an amazing few of the city, which I also loved.

I have yet to actually be to the Eiffel tower, but have seen it from a distance numerous times so I have some pretty swell photos of said little phallic symbol. I'm thinking I will go tomorrow night on my LAST (wtf?) night here. I will sort of gamble with my life and go at night when it's all lit up and fancy. Maybe I'll drink some rose right out of the bottle and talk in a southern accent.

Please refer to blog title.

I was just hit on my a nice man from Tunisia. He came back not once but 3 times. I lied and said I had to meet a friend. Why? Because his name was sam and quite franky I don't think I can date anyone who i fear my chew my most expensive things - like my spawn of satan dog. Sam is quite relentless though. For a short man. And you know what they say about short men right? Me either = but Napoleon was a short man and I was at the Louvre today. Best transition ever. I'm a writer everyone!

in other news I just had to go and by more time and the nice man gave me 45 minute for free. I love this hostel. I always seem to get free stuff here just by being nice. Which I am. Nice. Most of the time. Except for to lmy brother, and Jessi... okay not a lot of people unless they can give me free stuff.

Please refer to blog title.

So yes, the Louvre. Napolean III has apartments in the current museum and they are absolutely my favourite part of that place. After FIVE hours of walking through at a steady pace (ie: i rarely really stopped to look at everything) i still feel like I only skimmed the place. Even though it was my second time there I still got lost and confused and was still overwhelmed by just how much there is. I also can't help but do a substantial amount of eye rolling around the Mona Lisa situation. There are signs every where telling you which way to go to her, then when you gt there there's actualy a line up and people are taking pictures like crazy and there are signs warning you against pick pockets. Are you telling me that the most beautiful picture, that EVERYONE's collective favorite painting is a small one of a woman smiling? Really, Papi? Really? I have a feeling most people get excited about it because they think they should, not because they actually are.

So I did take a peek at ol' Lisa and then wandered to the other side of the wall to see my favorite painting. It's called The Matyr - but it wasn't there. So I walked around the sectiono f the time period it was done in, and nothing. No favourite painting for me.

Oh a more hilarious note I was swept up in, and basically a part of not one, but TWO guided tours. For asian people. The first one happened in a narrow hallway and I couldn't get by, so effectively I was part of their team for a good five minutes. We all know how I feel about other cultures, but don't worry, I behalved myself not once did I ask anyone if they had any rice handy because I was feeling a little hungry.

Not long after I got caughtu p in another one. I think the first one was from Korean and this one was from japan. This time, the woman at the check point (depending on where you are in the giant thing they check your ticket) didn't even check my ticket because she actually thought I was pat of the japanese tour group. She just waved me in with the other members of the group. this was especially funny when the tour guide noticed and gave me a "wait a minute, are you part of that group?" look. I considered tagging along for the ride but I'm a little rusty on my japanese so thought I'd better move on.

The weather has been great here. Mid twenties, no need for jackets or sweaters. But it is fall, leafs are changing colours and falling from the trees - and it is beautiful. As always. After the Louvre I walked through les Toulleries (an ex-royal garden) and it was really stunning.

Blog title. Look at it. Move here.

Right now I'm reading a book that Nicole gave me called The Glass Castle and I LOVE It. I am so happy to sit in a cafe and spend too much money on coffee o alcohol and read it. I'm almost done though, so one of the reasons I came back to the hostel this evening was to pillage their book swap. Weirdly, on the top self was the second book written by the same author. Instead of being about her, this one is abuot her grandmother. I'd say that is a rather serendipitous event.

Yesterday I went to Notredame and sang Hunchback songs in my head. I considered busting one out, or at the very lkeast just yelling "sanctuary" a bunch... but decided I didn't feel like getting kicked out of a church. My skirt was short enough they if they were looking for a reason they already had one. No need to antagonize the holy.

Guess what/who was at the church? Real life nuns! One of my conditions from my friend Faye was to take a picutre with someone who was interesting to me. I wanted to take my picture with the nuns, but I couldn't ask them to do that in the church, so instead I just took a picture of them when they did know. Real life nuns! It's true, I have a fasciantion with nuns. Probably because i'm so religious. And holy.

There was a nother nun who was collective funds for the poor. Or some group in relation tot he poor. For poor people. anyway she looked so much like maman, and being a nun reminded me of maman, so I gave her a couple of euros. it is, utterly impossible, to walk into one of these churches and not think about her. There is a certain sense of calm that I get from going into them - and I think it's just the connection with my family. And my holiness.

After that I spent a bunch of time eating a crepe by the river and wandered around that area of town.

Please refer to blog title.

One of my favourite things about this city is that when you come upstairs from a metro station you're almost always greeted by something that is ridiculously spectacular. I can't seem to get over it. Or the fact that when I lay in bed at night I can see the top light of the Eiffel tower go zipping by through the skylight.

Please refer to blog title.

The day before I went out and did Mat's condition. to find the real Chanel store. it actaully was really easy to find, but completely forgettign that everything shuts down here in sundays that's when i went. so it was like a ghost town. I did take lots of pictures of the outside for him.... Although I wouldh ave felt awkward going in, for Mat I wouldh ave done it.

The day before I spent hanging around my own 'hood. I went to Sacre Coeur, another big beautiful church. I lit a candle for Dallas there, by the Mary statue. Then wandered around the crowded saturday streets. Wanting to buy everything. I even wandered into a smaller church I had gone into last time I was there. I had taken my favorite pciture of my entire trip in there... and of course lost it when my camera was stolen - i tried to see if it would still work - but the light wasn't right and things were a bit different inside.

Later I ended up in the jewelry distrist. How to feel like an underchiever in one step: Visit Paris' jewelry district.

Right now my feet are sore and i'm hungry. Not yesterday or two day but almost every day before that I ate so much I almost felt sick at the end of every day (that was for Larissa's condition). I decided perhaps, as Jessi said, this could be called Eat, Pray, Eat (because I have visited three churches so far). One day I'm pretty sure that every meal had chocolate in it.
I hope you all like fat Lana.

One day I ended up at one of my favourite fountains, then I realized it was called St. Michel. And you're probably thinking, wait a minute, Michel is like Michael in french, wasn't the fountain jut full of garbage? No friends it wasn't. Pehaps if my parents had spelled Michael's name the french way, he wouldn't have a dump truck for a face.

The sun is setting so I will make my way home. Maybe to get something to cook. I spent about 10 dollars today on the SMALLEST little salad and a bottle of water - so i think eating out for the day might be done.

Considering I haven't really done that much, i can sure type a lot. it's easy to gush in a place like this.

This will likely e my last entry from paris this round. I leave for Berlin on wednesday. So if jessi lets me borrow her computer... I'll probably write a copule of times from there. I don't want to leave here, and i'm already excited to come back...

Adieu!
xo
lmh

Ps:
please refer to the blog title of this entry

PPS
i bought a chocolate tar the other day that would kill you it's so good. get here and i'll buy you one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb