Traveling moment


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 30th 2006
Published: June 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

:Paris Lunch:Paris Lunch:Paris Lunch

Lunch with friends in Paris
Here's a little travel moment for you: The day before I left Paris I went to a new bistro for breakfast because I'd overslept and missed it at the residence. I go to a nearby (kind of shi shi) place because it's cool outside and they have outdoor heaters and I wanted to catch up on my journal. My coffee comes without the usual little long paper sugar cylanders. Instead there is this HUGE shaker (remember--shi shi restaurant) filled with what I assume is sugar so I generously sprinkle it into my coffee. Soon after, the rest of my meal comes along with the sugar thingies and I realize I've doused my coffee with a generous helping of salt. Now in Paris there is no such thing as a free refill and I'm too embarassed to tell my waitress what a stupid thing I've done. I add cream and sugar hoping it covers it up but to no avail. To top it off, a sofboiled egg is placed in front of me with it's top chopped off. Runny yolks are something I have never been able to stomach--one of the few things I won't eat--and there it is.

So for the cost of a good dinner, I waisted on this overpriced breakfast with cold toast, unbearable coffee and an egg I could not bear to eat. That was my only bad meal in Paris. Hey, but the atmosphere was great!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb