Paris In a Nutshell (Day 50)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 1st 2010
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

hanghanghang

messing around on the walk down the eiffel tower
So today was my day to do all the touristy stuff in Paris. Took the metro from the hotel down to Notre Dame and had a quick walk around there. I remember this place being much more impressive as a kid but I guess that is pretty normal. From the outside today though it really didn't look like anything special. I didn't get the chance to go in as the lines were massive. Unfortunately this would be a trend that would continue throughout the day. Took a nice leisurely stroll along the Seine over to the Eiffel Tower and grabbed a quick lunch at a Chinese place nearby. I know I should probably try something a little more French like crepes or whatever but I don't care. Chinese is never a bad option for me. After the bad experience at Notre Dame I figured I would feel the same about the Eiffel Tower but I was wrong. Sure the lines were even worse here meaning I had to settle for walking up halfway instead of taking the lift to the top but there is something about this construction that I just marveled at. Roamed around the park for a bit as
eiffeleiffeleiffel

cool looking building i found
all the guys tried to sell me little replica Eiffel towers. Seriously guys, how can you survive when you have about fifty people selling the same thing. And it's not even something cool. At least the guys who are selling bottles of water that they filled up at the sink at their place earlier in the morning have some idea how to make some money. I don't care if the seal has been broken. It's hot out so I need some luke warm water. Finished up my day of tourism with a quick stop by the Arc de Triumphe but was ready to head home after a slightly disappointing day. Spent the night with a group of Dad's colleagues at a restaurant downtown and later at a pretty chic cafe on one of the big squares. Was a pretty good time. Some of the British guys are pretty hilarious with the humor you often get from that part of the world. It's quite nice to be having some real meals at sit down places after going kebab to kebab for a while. Got Dad to thank for that. Tomorrow it's off to Normandy for the D-Day tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

typicaltypical
typical

don't hate me. everyone has to have this pic
centrecentre
centre

right up the gut
viewview
view

view from second platform


7th July 2010

I'm traveling to Paris soon as well, and I was wondering if you suggest pre-buying the tickets for the eiffel tower before I leave, which leaves you a half hour time slot, or just buying them on the spot? also, I'm going to be making a reservation at one of the restaurants, the less expensive but still rather pricy one. Should I go to the first level, eat, and then continue all the way up, or go all the way up first, and then eat on my way back down? Thanks for the advice. P.S.- it will be my first time seeing the eiffel tower
8th July 2010

Tower Advice
I would definitely buy tickets ahead. The lines I saw were enormous, enough to make me walk up instead. If I were I would make sure I got to the top for the views so probably book ahead. I know little about the restaurants so cannot help you there. Any other questions, feel free to ask. Have a great time in Paris!

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb