Busy Week Ahead!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 29th 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This week I bought some more scarves! I love getting them secondhand, in stores the cheapest I've seen a VERY cheaply made one is 1,50€ and most are at least 5, but usually more. All of these were 1 or 2€!












I'll probably use this style to prevent massive scalp burning in the desert!




peacocks!






On Friday after class, I went and had tea with Catherine. We also saw the Salon de Dessins (Drawing/Art Show) that had artists from all over the world. A lot of really neat stuff. If I was a millionaire, I probably would have bought some of it! I especially liked drawings that were done on newspaper, entirely done by shading with different colored pens.

On Saturday, I tried a chinese place near home for lunch. It was pretty cheap, so I gave it a shot. A lot of what they serve is similar to chinese food in the states, althought they have some different things. I had pork caramalisé (pork sesame sort of) and veggie lo mein. It was ok, but next time I need lunch near home I think I will do something else. On Saturday night, Catherine and I had an onion soup which is similar to French Onion soup in the States, but a lot less salty! It was very good, and we finished dinner with some tartes aux fraises (strawberry tarts) and ice cream and coffee. After dinner I had a tea, and then we went to a concert in the Sainte Chappelle, which is very beautiful! It was a string quartet with a clarinetist, and they played several pieces by Mozart. The acoustics in the chapel were wonderful, even though it was a bit chilly.

On Sunday, I went to Catherine's for lunch where she showed me how to make salmon by putting some butter and olive oil in a pan, putting a steak of fish skin side down, and then putting a little more butter and some salt and pepper on top, then letting the fish cook through the skin. However, we should have let it cook a little longer, as it was still a bit raw, which was ok by me, I love sushi! Haha. We also had some delicious mashed potatoes with olive oil, and white cheese with jam for dessert.

After lunch we headed back to the Musée de Judaisme to finish seeing what we didn't last time. I took the time to listen to all of the audioguide as well, and it was very interesting, though also tiring. After the museum, we went to the quarter where all the jewish delis and such are so I could buy something to bring to the seder I will be attending tonight, but unfortunately the lines were way out the doors, everyone buying last minute things for Pesach. I'm sure there are other places to buy kosher for passover things, but they are not available in every grocery store the way they are back home. So I decided to buy some flowers instead. Still a nice gift, and I can find those all over and not have to worry if they are K for P.





Tonight I am going to a seder at a French Jewish family's home. I found something online for Jewish foreigners in Paris offering to find them a place to go for the holiday, and I emailed in, and was matched up! I am very much looking forward to meeting Claudia, who is a French girl my age, and who is studying at an American school, so she is learning English while I am learning French!

Tomorrow night I will be going to a community seder for the Franco-Anglophone synagogue I have been going to. I am looking forward to that as well, though usually there isn't anyone near my age at synagogue...usually parents with children and older adults. But maybe some of those kids need un baby-sitter!

We just switched to DST here, which is sad because I am once again 6 hours ahead of eastern time. But I do enjoy the extra hour of light! We actually ate dinner while the sun was still up last night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb