When in France...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 9th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

“Paris holds the key to your heart…”


Bonjour faithful readers,

I apologize for my prolonged absence. After wireless stopped working in my house, I was forced to use the exceedingly slow computers at the Fund and I haven’t really been too motivated to maintain the journal entries. But, after my parents informed me that the entire extended family has been keeping tabs on my journeying, I figured it was about time for a renewal of the journal. Enjoy!

I can’t believe how fast the weeks have passed. I’ve been soaking up every bit of Spain especially the “3 s’s”: sun, sangria, and, most important, SIESTA (yes, surprisingly, “school” or “studying” did not make the list…). My Spanish family is still wonderful and my “mom” has even promised to teach me how to cook. So far, I’ve mastered tortilla espanola, a potato and onion omelet of sorts. I’m foreseeing a very Spanish cuisine in my house at ND next year.

I’ve also been traveling every weekend. When I have more time (ha), I’ll type up a quick summary of each trip but for now let’s suffice to say that I’ve loved every place I’ve visited with Barcelona being my favorite (and the most colorful) city in Spain and Cadiz as my favorite party town (one word: Carnaval!). And now, on to Paris…

Last weekend, my dear friend Ashley and I decided to try our hand at French and took an afternoon flight to Paris. After a frustrating flight delay, we finally landed in the land of crepes and berets around 6pm and, walking up the stairs off the metro, the first bit of France we saw was Notre Dame. How fitting. And, as we walked towards it, I proceeded to trip over the curb and, with bags and all, completely wiped out in front of a large group of tourists. Also fitting. A few minutes later, we met up with Ashley’s German friend Katarina and headed to the hostel.

We began our first night in France with a merging of cultures: 2 Americans and 1 German sharing 3 German beers (gifts from Katarina) on a bench along the Seine River in front of Notre Dame. Then we were off to the most recognizable landmark in Paris—which, ironically, was met with sharp disapproval by Parisians when it was first constructed for the 1889 World’s Fair. It was a bit chilly but the view was fantastic and the sight of the Eiffel Tower all lit up is one I’ll never forget. We continued our multi-cultural experience with some gyros at a small restaurant and called it an early night.

The next day we spent 4 hours at the Louvre: saw the famous Mona Lisa and embraced being obnoxious tourists, taking lots of joke pictures with the ancient Greek statues (a much more fun way to appreciate the art). We were feeling a bit of art-overload after 4 hours so we decided to take a stroll through the parks of Paris, picking up a chocolate-filled crepe and beret on the way. And, like the girls we are, we did a bit of shopping where I finally found a pair of European jeans that I liked! My most important accomplishment yet.

After, we splurged for a traditional French meal, complete with French onion soup, lemon butter salmon, and fantastic chocolate mousse. Conclusion: the French know their cookin’.

Off to Notre Dame for some rousing organ music (and by rousing I mean creeeepy) and a mass where the only word I understood was “Amen.” But the cathedral is beautiful and the place was packed, a refreshing change from the sparingly attended Spanish masses.

We went back to the hostel to change before heading to a very Americanized bar where the drinks were a little pricy but the futbal game was on and the people were friendly. Well, some of them. We briefly met a French man whose pick up line was, “So, want to buy me a drink?” Classy. Later, we met a very openly wealthy Mexican-Italian guy who showed us a “posh” place in Paris where we dined on champagne and more delicious French food (courtesy of our new friend). Living the high life.

The next day was a little rushed but luckily I had time to squeeze in the beautiful Montmartre where the white-washed Sacre Coeur was glowingly beautiful in the warm sun. There were people everywhere spread out on the grass & listening to a man on harp and, crepe in hand, I decided then and there that Paris was my favorite city in Europe. I can’t wait to go back!

That’s all for now, gotta get packed for my next vacation: a school-sponsored trip to Andalucia where the sun is warmer and the people are even nicer (according to my Spanish padre). Hope all is well at home and abroad and keep in touch!

Besos,

Laura






Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb