One Last Day for the Musee D'Orsay


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 26th 2009
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ClockworkClockworkClockwork

Street view through the clock in the Musee d'Orsay cafe
Juju and the young Ls waved me off, old-style minus the hankies, at Maintenon train station Thursday as I ended six months of attempting to become French. Obviously, it made me more Canadian than ever, but I still felt a little twinge of regret as the train doors closed and we closed this cohabitative chapter of our lives. I made sure to pay close attention to the verdant fields and forests between Maintenon and Paris as I rode by them for the last time; and by the time I met up with Yael, L-Daddy’s little sister and my dinner date, I was looking forward again to my next adventure - a month-long tour of Prague, the Netherlands and Ireland before I head back to Calgary to get serious about life.

Before leaving the country completely, I had one last landmark to cross off my list - the Musee d’Orsay. Having avoided it on other visits to Paris due to a seemingly endless line-up to go through security, I was told it was a must-see. By staying at Yael’s apartment at the foot of the Butte de Montmartre Thursday night I not only got to enjoy a night as a “Parisienne,”
Hey Tiny DancerHey Tiny DancerHey Tiny Dancer

I love this nymph-like piece by Degas
but was able to get to the Musee d’Orsay before the crowds.

The idea of living in France usually conjures images of haute couture, luxury shopping, high culture and bohemian cafes, but I have to say most of that doesn’t appeal to me. A walk around the Louvre was more interesting for the exercise it provided than for the viewing pleasure, as were the golden hallways and perfectly trimmed gardens of the Chateau Versailles; visits to Louis Vuitton held more entertainment value than fashion sense, and the over-priced bohemian coffees left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Thus, with its relative smallness and focus on impressionism and sculptures, I was pleasantly surprised at the emotions the Orsay collection inspired in me as I walked through. Starting with the Impressionists, I discovered with joy the works of Cezanne and Degas and got up-close with well- and lesser-known pieces by Van Gogh, Monet and Renoir. I even said “hello” to “Whistler’s Mother” whom I met quite unexpectedly.

By the time I left to meet Yael and L-Grandpa for one last lunch in a French café, I felt a new appreciation for Paris, thanks to the Musee d’Orsay and its simple but gratifying collection.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

And this?And this?
And this?

Dots making shapes
And this?And this?
And this?

River scene
How about this?How about this?
How about this?

Aaaaaah....
Bloody HellBloody Hell
Bloody Hell

This looks so painful, I wasn't actually able to appreciate the piece
Whistler's MomWhistler's Mom
Whistler's Mom

Sitting staid
Coke BearCoke Bear
Coke Bear

I'm sure this was the model for the Coca Cola bears


26th April 2009

safe travels my friend
I am continually inspired and in awe of your zest for adventure and travel- I am so contented to travel into my front yard and enjoy a firepit fire and chatting with my neighbors. My adventure is walking down 17th Ave to work - and let me tell you it is exactly that most days. So soak it up my dear and travel safe. remember there is a chair in my front yard waitng for you for with a nice hot bevvy and a fire.
26th April 2009

Good luck on your travels and see you in Calgary - shame you won't be in Prague second half of May when we are there! ;-)

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb