Arriving in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 16th 2004
Published: October 16th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I got off the train at Gare du Nord, in Paris, after my spur of the moment decision the night before and had absolutely no idea where I was, or how to get anywhere. The obvious decision would have been to have taken the metro as I was in a train station but I wanted to go outside and see what it was like. There was a streetmap on the bus stop outside so I studied that for a while and sort of worked out which way Sacre Couer was but I was still endeavouring not to look like a tourist so didn't want to stay staring at the map too long. Looking back now it was pretty obvious that I am not in fact Parisian, but anyway.
I did eventually find Sacre Couer and saw a lot of back streets and normal French life along the way as I went the 'scenic route', as I was completely lost, but luckily I was headed to the top of the only mountain in Paris.
It was weird up there when I finally arrived, the Sacre Couer is stunning but the view of Paris was not at all what I was expecting. It
View of ParisView of ParisView of Paris

This is the view overlooking Paris from directly outside the Sacre Couer.
was very brown, and very uniform. The Eiffel tower looked tiny and as I hadn't been anywhere else yet so didn't recognise anything it was slightly disappointing.
I then walked down the road to the Moulin Rouge before I went and rested my feet and found where I was staying for the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Moulin RougeMoulin Rouge
Moulin Rouge

Down the hill at the Moulin Rouge. I was tricked by Hollywood again and expected this to be more glamorous and not another in a long line of strip joints.
La MarmiteLa Marmite
La Marmite

Just down the road from the Moulin Rouge I saw this cafe and it made me think of home.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb