And so it begins....


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 26th 2009
Published: February 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday (the 9th) was my first day of classes. On Monday I have FLE, which is Français comme Langue Etrangère (French as a foreign language) from 10h30 until 12h30 and then I don’t have class again until 4, but the class goes until 7. FLE is all French students except for Alysha, two Romanian girls, Laura and Ionela and myself. I don’t really know what I think about this course at the moment. I guess right now I’m just happy that I can understand the professor! The course professor is actually the one who gave me my placement exam and she recommended it to me when she found out that one of the careers that I am considering is being a professor. In this course we’re going to learn methods of teaching French as a foreign language so it should help me. Right now I think any class in French will help me though!
My class at 4 is my required French language class. In the class there are three girls from Romania (including the two in my FLE class), an Austrian, two Spaniards, two people from China, a girl from Nigeria, and two girls from Germany. They all seem very nice, for the most part. Like most of my French classes have always been the majority of the class are girls except for three people: the Austrian, a Spaniard and one of the Chinese students.
In this class we were informed that we would be putting on pieces in front of an audience. Having performed a shorter version of Molière’s Tartuffe last spring this news did not excite me very much. I like watching theater but dissecting it and actually acting is another thing entirely. Thankfully like Tartuffe this performance will be graded more on pronunciation than actual acting skills!
The rest of the week went by pretty smoothly. Mostly we just tried to find ways to amuse ourselves; we ended up watching a lot of The Office. On Wednesday we had another class with all three of us, and then some of the students from the other class. Mostly we just took notes that day but for that class we will be going to Paris a lot to see some lesser-known sites. Then we found ways to amuse ourselves (somewhat successfully) over the next two days.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb