Paris le quatresiem part


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Pyrimid The Pyrimid The Pyrimid

So it doesn't work for me, that's just one architect's opinion, ask another one, he or she will have a totally different opinion.
Okay today was the last day in Paris for the three of us; we have been pushing hard, and it showed today. But today was Louvre day and so we pushed on. Let me say if you are a complete lover of the Louvre, you might want to stop right here. I am going to make some very personal observations based on my opinion, mostly as an architect. We are trained to critique our college's work and so it is difficult not to do so. I will say first that everything I say is prefaced with this, we had a FABULOUS day and I would go back to the Louvre, and will each time I come to Paris.

So, there is so much to say and it is late. I am packed but I still want to share. First there is the pyrimid entry. I have reserved judgement about this piece of architecture until I saw it, believeing that one must experience the context of a structrue before you can speak. I went with no expectations to the Louvre today and there it was, the Im Pei pyrimid, and I don't like it. I think it is the wrong choice
Mona Lisa CrowdMona Lisa CrowdMona Lisa Crowd

It is sad that even in low season, you cannot approach the lovely lady and study her. But I am glad to have seen her home and her none the less.
of shape. I think the entry handles people flawlessly, but the pyrimid creates too much tension with the beautiful structure that surrounds it. So I am firmly thumbs down.

Then there are the galleries, cluttered with pictures. A truly impressive collection of art that assults you by the time you are in room three. You must decide that you cannot possibly see it all, which we had done. But more than that for me, while the Musee D'Orsay celebrates the intrinsic architecture, and builds upon it, the Louvre covers it up and compensates for the building the collection is housed in, a real sadness for an architect. It is the same feeling I have about the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco. I think the building is a failure. That is not to say that the building is ugly, it is splendid, but the palace of France, as an art museum, is a failure for me.

I thought that was all, but then I ran across the offices that are in one of the pictures posted. These prefabricated office cubes are stacked in a ceremonial courtyard, in front of a beautiful arrival point, or at least it was
Offices, here???Offices, here???Offices, here???

What a shame to waste a ceremonial courtyard with prefabricated office space.
once a beautiful arrival point. Wow, what a loss. The dammage is certainly not perminate, but it is none the less stunning.

As I said, those are my architectural observations. Then there is something that fascinated me.

We, of course, saw the Mona Lisa. She is a beautiful portrait, and had quite the crowd (see photo). What saddened me was that she was, for apparently security reasons, unapproachable. So the viewer is robbed of the ability to truly study her. Compounded by idiot tourists flashing countless pictures of her and a museum staff that doesn't enforce it's own rules. Disappointing to say the least, and this is low season. wow.

But what a glorious day never the less. Most of that gloiousness comes from the time with my friends, the love we share and the wonderful city of lights. Oh, by the way, we saw the Eiffel Tower lights tonight as our last sightseeing opportunity, and that was a perfect cap to a perfect trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Public ArtPublic Art
Public Art

I normally LOATHE public art. I find it contrived most of the time. This, however was totally charming. What you cannot see is the water "leaking" under the lifted sidewalk. It's fun and fabulous!


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb