UNESCO and snow in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello hello
I hope that everyone back home is doing well. I have mentioned before that I am working at UNESCO, but I have not really gone into detail some of the things that I am doing. I was originally hired to edit documents that had been written in French and translated into English. However, I am doing so much more than that. My first ‘assignment’ was to edit a document regarding marginalized adolescent girls and how to help them in trying to eradicate violence against women. In addition, I was asked for my opinion and recommendations. My recommendations were taken with enthusiasm. I am currently creating a dossier of information on what has been accomplished or started in the field of violence against women within the UN framework. Based on the information in this dossier we are going to evaluate and determine what direction the department I am working in should head. Last week I was researching information on economic partnerships between Africa and the Arab states for a mission the department chief is at right now. She wants to be able to recommend ways in which a trading agreement can ensure it takes the delicate economic situation of Africa into consideration. The mandate of our department is gender inequality and poverty reduction. The best way for the UN to succeed in this field is to provide governments with solutions and recommendations, but the real change has to come from governmental actions. I am really enjoying learning the things that I am learning. I am hoping that I can find a way to keep this going. We’ll see. I am making no decisions about anything right now and just letting things play out.
I will say though, I sure miss a lot of people. The Christmas decorations are starting to go up here in Paris. While they are beautiful, they make me a little sad. It is all good though. We may even have a white Christmas here. Oh yes, snow! I went out on Saturday night with some of my Spanish friends and I think they were going to freeze their butts off! It started to snow so much. (OK, not that much, but for Paris it was a lot) Then again, after a couple of cocktails we were warmed up again. I just found it very strange because I was told that it doesn’t snow here very much. Good ole climate change.
Short and sweet today. By the way, feel free to comment or send me notes - I love hearing from people back home!
xoxoxoxoaxo
Leslie



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

At the salonAt the salon
At the salon

I finally got my hair done and it was very strange. They use plastic instead of foils. He said the reason is because the foils cook your hair and it is damaging. Who know, I am just happy to have had my hair done - 6 months is too long
It was even starting to stickIt was even starting to stick
It was even starting to stick

Total west coast type snow too. Wet, cold and damp. The weather here is so much like home, I don't have the same homesickness. Having said that, I wish I could have seen the really cool fog that we had in person. Thanks for posting the pic Willow.
Emilie, my friend from UNESCOEmilie, my friend from UNESCO
Emilie, my friend from UNESCO

We are at in Little India, a neighbourhood very close to my house. Here we are enjoying a delicious Indian meal, and the price was great for Paris too!


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb