Paris Part Deux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

L'OmletteL'OmletteL'Omlette

Jaques and Julia would be proud of Cafe Flore, the eggs were cooked to their perfection. If you like your eggs to not run, you best not order eggs in Paris.
It is day two of our adventure, actually day three but last night Kenneth needed to blog and I didn't bring my own computer, so I am up this morning blogging before we start day three officially.

Yesterday was glorious, not becuase of the weather, though it broke towards the end of the afternoon and we saw sunshine, but because we had a wonderful time exploring. Up and off to have coffee at Cafe Flore, Kenneth and Carlton assure me it has no relation to the one in the Castro, but I somehow think it must be related. Then on to the Musee d'Orsay.

I all ready read Kenneth's blog ( http://www.travelblog.org/fred.php?id=349824 ) from last night and I cannot even begin to do this museum justice. I speak from a purely architectural point of view, this building has been transformed from housing coal fired locomotives to stunning artworks. Adaptive re-use has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember, but this is the crown jewel. My favorite until yesterday was the post office building in Washington DC, but sadly or gloriously that has been replaced now. If you come here, you MUST go, it is
Musee d'OrsayMusee d'OrsayMusee d'Orsay

I find it hard to imagine coal fired locomotives in this space, but I know it happened. It is breath taking as a museum. The Asian Art museum folk in San Francisco should have visited here, then they wouldn't have failed so miserably.
breath taking. Add on top of that watching my best friend meet the final work of an artist that he understands like no one else, and my heart was so very moved and I was once again blessed to be sharing my life with my two best friends.

On from the Musee d'Orsay to the Bon Marche and some shopping in the food hall. Can I just say everywhere I turn I am reminded of what foodies the Parisans are and this place is the epitomy. WOW

From the Bon Marche to the Eiffel Tower, just at sunset, then back home. We had a lovely dinner at a restaurant in our little place, and then visited the local gay bears at the Bear's Den. Then as we were sitting in the apartment at 2 AM decompressing... it began to snow. I awoke to no snow however so it must have been only briefly, yet it was a truly wonderful day two.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Paris OperaParis Opera
Paris Opera

I think architectual models should be part of our museum collections, particularly when they are as gorgeous as this one.
EiffelEiffel
Eiffel

What is there to say that hasn't been said about this structure, maybe "Do you speak English?" My little homage to the strange scarfed women who pester you when you arrive at Paris landmarks. I have taken to simply walking past without talking. At the Eiffel, the one speaking to me got very angry. I simply kept walking. If I understood English, wouldn't I have answered???


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb