Hey Mona!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well Paris has started and been and pretty much gone and I need a new pair of feet. We landed at Charles De Gaul and we were pretty cream crackered to start with (I can no longer cope with drinking during the day).

We discovered very quickly I was right when it came to packing bags and Angela had too much stuff! This meant I walked like a weable from the airport to the train station, to the metro and then to the hostel with a 15kg backpack on my front and one on my back.

The first night involved a few glasses of wine at 1 Euro 60 a go! At just over a pound its only asking for trouble.

We ate and went for a stroll around Paris and then to bed in prepartion for the next day.

We started early on the next day and headed straight for the l'ouvre which was in my price range......Free!

We saw allsorts of art which I am too uncultured for and im not exactly sure I impressed the Parisians when I was signing Hey Mona by Craig Mcloughlan of Neighbours fame as I approached it. I think Angela was ready to disown me when we got to the Venus De Milo (I dont think thats how you spell it) and I was signing "Im your Venus, Im your fire... your desire"

After the L'ouvre we decide to walk down the Champs Elysees which is absolutely miles!! We saw the Grand Palace and then got to Arc De Triomphe. To start with I was trying to play chicken going across the biggest roundabout in the world with crazy drivers and then Angela saw the subway which was much safer!

We had lunch in the park underneath the Eiffel tower... how romantic am I!! and then we went all the way up the tower which is pretty impressive!

After the tower we went on a cruise down the Seine and saw Notradame and a few other things of interest.

We were completely shattered and so headed back to the hostel and a great bar for some more Chardonay and to listen to a french guy signing knocking on Heavens Door. I wanted to request hey mona!

last night was supposed to be a quiet one but we met two americans Jack and Robert, a canadian bloke - James and an aussie girl Nicole.

This took a turn for the worse when we joined the Jager train! A few drinks later we had a bottle of wine in hand and headed for a stroll down the river front just by the hotel with the Eiffel in the distance. We had a good laugh and arranged to meet in Amsterdam. Among the highlights of the night was a woman who must have been around 40 ish getting on one of those kids playground seats which sits on top of a spring...... she sat down, it fell to one side, she had her legs round her ears..... it amused me no end!

Today we were a little rough but made it to montmarte after queuing for over an our to book our train ticket to amsterdam for tomorrow. We have been all over the metro today and saw Jim Morrisons grave in a cemetry somewhere in Paris. We have had pancakes, seen sacre cure and other stuff??!!

Amsterdam here we come

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb