Promenade Plantee


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 15th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

promenadepromenadepromenade

this is the section with the pools, the next part was a little less manicured but completely lined with rose bushes in bloom!
Well, the weather here this week has been absolutely stunning- I've been out in skirts and tanktops almost every day. Today at last I may need a sweater, but I am still enjoying sunshine and a completely blue sky, much to my delight. This fabulous weather has encouraged me to explore the various gardens of Paris while they're glorious rather than in cold and rain which could happen any day. So last weekend I went with my friend for a walk along the Promenade Plantee which runs from the periphery of Paris in the 12th (very close to where I live) all the way over to the Bastille. It's essentially a promenade with lots of gardens and little parks but set up for walkers and rollerbladers and bikers etc.. It's really pretty cool because it's not all the same style all the way along. Some sections feel like a jungle and run under the roads, others have mini reflection pools and are raised up above the roads providing nice views of the city. One of the coolest parts was a suspension bridge over a park. As I started walking on it I thought, wow, I must be super happy because I
view from along the promenadeview from along the promenadeview from along the promenade

can you imagine having one of these apartment rooms up on the top floor with windows opening out onto a balcony like this in one of these old parisian buildings?
really do feel like I'm walking on air, like every step rebounds by itself. Then of course I realized that it was actually the give of the bridge doing that and other people's footsteps lifting me up as if we were on a trampoline. I mean, a little more subtle than a trampoline, but still, it was very cool.

Then this week, as some of you know, I finally started my theater classes and they are AMAZING. I am still quite overwhelmed and completely exhausted but I certainly know now that, as I had suspected, it's going to be an incredible year.

Today I'm going to Giverny (home of Monet) with the program so check back later for that experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

eveningevening
evening

when I came home, there was this amazing sky again, making all the lights in the apartment windows look totally orange.


16th October 2005

If you liked this...
Have you tried the Allee des Cygnes? If you walk from North to South, you'll find a surprising anomaly at the South end... If its still there. It is not as glorious or as long as your promenade, but its right in the middle of the Seine. Love, D.O.D.

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0902s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb