Ten Things I Learned in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 22nd 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

View at the topView at the topView at the top

Here's the view from the window of the attic apartment.
I thought I had Paris figured out. Yet, my last night in the City of Light told me otherwise.

In the past two weeks I had gone from being tongue-tied in the pastry shops to spitting out orders with a smile. It had taken me 30 minutes to operate the train ticketing machine the first time. Towards the end, I was getting anywhere in the city without consulting a map or an English speaker.

But, as I am learning, just when you think you are adapting there is always a lingering trap when you’re a foreigner. The problem is that they are invisible. You don’t know you’re trapped until, well, you’re trapped.

I decided that the last night in Paris would be well spent at Parc des Princes Stadium. France is host to the 2007 World Cup of Rugby and the city seemed to lack interest in the Italy vs. Portgual match on Wednesday.

So I got on Craigslist, found a ticket seller and contacted him. In the eleventh hour, he came through, but I would have to meet him at a certain train station in 15 minutes otherwise the tickets were gone.

Without a thought,
Again, the viewAgain, the viewAgain, the view

Here's the view if you turn your head left. Quite Parisian.
I rushed towards the Metro station, knew all the connecting points and got there. Mission accomplished.

I had told a group of friends to meet me at the Parc Des Princes metro stop once I had the tickets in hand. None of us had cell phones. Long story short, I failed to find my friends, got lost trying to find them and missed the game. The meandering streets of Paris reminded me that for all I had learned in two weeks, I had just scratched the surface.

Now that I am off to Bangkok and Phnom Penh (Thai Airways is fantastic by the way, highly recommended), I have some of the lessons learned in Paris tucked away for later use. It’s time to tackle new cities, new cultures and new people.

But, I have decided to make a list. The Top 10 Things I Learned in Paris. So here goes.

10) The human body can survive on ham and cheese sandwiches and water for two weeks.

9) I desperately need the Internet. It rules my life. Thank you, Al Gore.

8) You can live with anybody for two weeks, no matter how strange they
The ApartmentThe ApartmentThe Apartment

This is the courtyard of my apartment building. The stairs I took up to the attic are on the right.
are.

7) Jokes aren’t nearly as funny when the person listening doesn’t speak your language.

6) “Thon” is tuna in French. Not a lightly-colored shredded beef as the picture on the menu indicates.

5) The world is chalked full of socially awkward people.

4) On earth, there is such a thing as clean and efficient public transportation.

3) Electrical outlets, if fiddled with, can -- and will -- produce sparks.

2) The Palace of Versailles is big. And fancy.

1) My wardrobe needs serious revision. My $5 Gap jeans and bargain-basement t-shirts were put to shame on the streets of Paris.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The StairsThe Stairs
The Stairs

Here are the stairs up to the attic apartment. Quite the hike.
The Bastille TracksThe Bastille Tracks
The Bastille Tracks

Here's the Metro station that I used to get all around Paris.
Home BaseHome Base
Home Base

Again, the Bastille Metro station.
Bastille PlatformBastille Platform
Bastille Platform

Here's the view from the Bastille platform going towards Chateau de Vincennes.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb